Monthly Summary: August 2016 Wrap-up

My blog has been alive one day shy of two weeks, what could I possibly have to wrap up? Read on and I’ll tell you all about it – the good, the bad and the new.

This month I read a total of 10 books, 2 eBooks and listened to one audio book.

Reviewing books is a skill I’m working on improving, I struggle to write a review for every book I read as sometimes, even after reading a brilliant book, the words for a review don’t come, so for now we’ll say they were too good to put into words! And if you read my ‘About Me’ page, you’ll know about my fear of reviewing books I didn’t enjoy, I’m working on that too (I managed a mini review of one book I didn’t enjoy.)

I’ll wrap up my reads using the following 5-star rating system:

1 star – Did not finish

2 star – Did not like it but I finished it

3 star –  It was okay

4 star – Recommend it

5 star – Highly recommend it

(All books mentioned, will be linked to their Goodreads synopsis and open in a new tab if clicked.)

The Good

I See You by Clare Mackintosh – 5/5

He’s Gone by Alex Clare – 5/5 (reviewed on blog)

Distress Signals by Catherine Ryan Howard – 5/5 (reviewed on blog)

Blood Wedding by Pierre Lemitre – 5/5 (reviewed on goodreads)

The Darkest Secret by Alex Marwood – 4/5 (reviewed on goodreads)

The Primrose Path by Rebecca Griffiths – 4/5 (reviewed on goodreads)

Speakers Of The Dead by J. Aaron Saunders – 4/5

1Q84: Book 1 and 2 by Haruki Murakami – 4/5

Books in Limbo

From Doon With Death by Ruth Rendell -3/5

A Little Murder by Suzette A. Hill – 3/5

The Bad

1Q84: Book 3 by Haruki Murakami – 2/5

The No.1 Ladies’ Detective Agency by Alexander McCall Smith – 2/5

The Loney by Andrew Michael Hurley – 2/5 (reviewed on goodreads)

The New

This month I bought 22 books!! Hmm, I seem to have bought more books than I read, that explains a lot about my TBR pile, which is now currently at 99 owned books to read!

  1. Nevernight by Jay Kristoff
  1. The Exclusives by Rebecca Thornton
  1. Little Black Lies by Sharon Bolton
  1. The Day Of The Jackal by Frederick Forsyth
  1. Saving Sophie by Sam Carrington
  1. The Hope That Kills by Ed James
  1. The Girl At Midnight by Melissa Grey (Babbling Book Club September Read)
  1. Rebecca by Daphne Du Maurier
  1. Frenchman’s Creek by Daphne Du Maurier
  1. Jamaica Inn by Daphne Du Maurier
  1. The Mystery Of The Yellow Room by Gaston Leroux
  1. The Murders in Rue Morgue And Other Tales – Edgar Allen Poe
  1. Other People by Martin Amis
  1. Red Dragon by Thomas Harris
  1. The Night Book by Richard Madeley
  1. Crime And Punishment by Fyodor Dostoevsky
  1. Bird Box by Josh Malerman
  1. Ten Days by Gillian Slovo
  1. The Collector by John Fowles
  1. Oliver Twist by Charles Dicken
  1. Everything is Illuminated by Jonathon Safran Foer

oh and  I almost forget book 22 – The Chicago Way by Michael Harvey

After an Olympic book reading and buying month (see what I did there), it’s time to do it all over again in September!

Lastly, I would like to thank fellow bloggers, bookstagrammers, Twitter bods and visitors to the blog for making me feel so welcome. I hope you all have a very bookish September!

Author: Keeper of Pages

Blogging about books and other bookish ramblings

12 thoughts on “Monthly Summary: August 2016 Wrap-up”

      1. Wow, you my friend are a rockstar for guessing that! I only read it earlier this year and had been told countless times about this amazing twist so I should have discover it beforehand but I still didn’t.

        Like

  1. Buying 22 books is a slow month for me so don’t panic!! I always tend to buy more than I read – but at least we’ll never run out of reading material!!!

    Like

    1. Haha that makes me feel better, considering I was suppose to be on a book-buying ban till my TBR was down to 50, I think I did okay. I joined up to the library a few months ago so I think that’s helped a lot as my library does get quite a lot of new releases.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Library’s are life savers aren’t they!! I’m not putting a number on my TBR but it never goes down… 2 full six foot bookcases, and an extreme amount on my kindle….. Remember, you are never alone with TBR struggles!!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I admit, there’s nothing better than buying a new book. Like you, it takes me forever to get round to a book I was so excited about to begin with, everyone has already raved about it and I want to speak about it but everyone else is like “meh, already heard about!!”

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

