Book Tag: Mid-Year Book Freak Out 2016

After reading and thoroughly enjoying Jill’s mid-year book freak out, I decided to take up the tag. You can make a cuppa and head over to Jill’s Book Cafe to read her freak out and all her other amazing reviews. Without further ado, let’s get to the books…

Best book you’ve read yet in 2016

TWIC10

I’m freaking out already, I want to pick so many but I’m going with The Woman in Cabin 10 by Ruth Ware. This book has all the feels of a classic crime mystery book and reminded me why I love this genre (crime fiction) so much! (If you haven’t read it yet, it’s currently on Amazon for only £5!!!)

Best sequel you’ve read so far in 2016

The Night Stalker

I don’t seem to have read many sequels this year so this was an easy one: The Night Stalker by Robert Bryndza. I’m absolutely loving this DCI Erika Foster series, and who doesn’t love a strong female lead detective!?

New release you haven’t read yet but want to

Before I Let You In

Before I Let You In by Jenny Blackhurst – it sounds amazing!

Most anticipated release for the second half of the year

Crime Club - Killer Woman

Crime Club Anthology #1 by Louise Voss, Helen Smith and Jane Casey. “Fifteen perfectly twisted tales with a measure of evil, a dash of horror, and a dose of humour. Expect the unexpected…” And it’s out on the 15th September so I don’t have to wait long!

Biggest disappointment

Viral.jpg

Viral by Helen Fitzgerald. This was a highly anticipated read but when I got around to it, I found the storyline silly and unbelievable and I didn’t like any of the characters.

Biggest surprise

false hearts

False Hearts by Laura Lam – it’s sci-fi, a genre that’s always been hit and miss for me, most of the time miss. But this dystopian novel reads like the perfect futuristic crime thriller!

Favourite new author

*I’m invoking my fifth amendment rights*

Newest fictional crush

I haven’t read the book yet but I’ve watched the series over and over and over again so with out a doubt, it’s Jax Teller from Son’s of Anarchy – Bratva by Christopher Golden. I nearly died in the middle of HMV when I saw this book, I haven’t read it yet because it’s too special, I have to wait for the right moment when me and Jax will be together again.

Newest favourite character

Hamish Wolfe from Daisy in Chains by Sharon Bolton. What an absolutely fascinating character and dare I say it, I was at risk of becoming a member of his fan club!

Books that made you cry

The Girl in the Red Coat by Kate Hamer and The Book Thief by Markus Zusak. Now I’m not a crier but these two books definitely pulled at the heart strings.

Favourite book to film adaptation

TGWATG

I can’t actually think of one… but this is one I’m eagerly waiting for: The Girl With All The Gifts by M.R. Carey. I read it last year and it was one of my favourite books of 2015.

Favourite post you’ve done this year.

My blog only came alive a couple of weeks ago so there’s not many to choose from but it’s probably the first post I wrote – Before we get to the Books: The Author and the Blog – Not because it’s all about me but because I received such lovely comments from fellow bloggers, who made me feel so welcomed into this community. Thank you all!

What books do you need to read by the end of the year

Only Daughter

Only Daughter by Anna Snoekstra is the only book I NEED to read ASAP, as in less than 2 weeks, as I need the review ready to be published on the release date *Netgalley*

In no particular order these are my next 3 buddy reads, which I’m very excited for. The blog will be going back to Vienna, Austria, to read  Journey Under the Midnight Sun by Keigo Higashino. Passing through Zaragoza, Spain, to read The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafron. And venturing all the way to Ghana, Africa, to read The Widow by Fiona Barton. Keep an eye out for these buddy read book reviews.

I hope you enjoyed my mid-year book freak out and if you’ve not yet already, share yours!

Author: Keeper of Pages

Blogging about books and other bookish ramblings

5 thoughts on “Book Tag: Mid-Year Book Freak Out 2016”

  1. Thanks for taking up the baton Janel, it’s always great to see what others are reading. I need to start the DCI Erika Foster series, I do have the first one so no excuse. I think I need to add Before I Let You In to my reading list as well. Yes, I cried at The Book Thief too (both the book and the film – not a good look in the cinema in broad daylight!). Hamish Wolfe is getting quite a real fan club -I can see the attraction, but I’ll stick with Marcus. My only criticism (only joking) how can you be so restrained with your need to reads. It will be fun to see whether your so good when you’ve had us all dangling temptation in front of you😁 I loved The Shadow of the Wind so hope you enjoy it too. Happy Reading xx

    Like

    1. Thanks, it was fun to do! I’m not sure I could handle The Book Thief as a film, while I don’t cry reading, I bawl my eyes out at sad films! It’s because of all these book posts that I kept my need to read small, it changes every day based on the reviews I read so really you’re all to blame for that section 😁 I’m looking forward to reading The Shadow of the Wind, my sister is going to be reading it in Spanish while myself in English so it’ll be interesting to see if anything is lost in translation when we buddy read it.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

