Book Review: Bird Box by Josh Malerman

bird-box-josh-malerman

This is the scariest book I have read this year…

From the back cover:

Most people dismissed the reports on the news. But they became too frequent; they became too real. And soon it was happening to people we knew.

Then the Internet died. The televisions and radios went silent. The phones stopped ringing.

And we couldn’t look outside anymore.

My Thoughts:

This book came highly recommended to me by many and I’m not sure if I should thank those that recommended it or curse them out…as this book was terrifying, fucking terrifying!

Malerman created such a creepy atmosphere; the tension was unbearable, I was looking over my shoulder this entire read, although I couldn’t tell you exactly what I was looking out for. The synopsis doesn’t give much away and I won’t either. But take a look at the book cover, imagine not being able to open your eyes but knowing you’re not safe because ‘they’ are coming for you. Some reviews for this book will give you details about what happens if you look outside and what’s coming for you, but I think this will be a much more enjoyable read if you dive in head first, discovering these disturbing things as you go along.

There’s a nice range of characters in this story, some you grow to love and some you grow to hate.

Some people have mentioned they weren’t overly satisfied with the way the book ended but I didn’t see a problem with it. I think as an author, it must be a hard task to know you’ve written something quite special and then have to come up with an ending that doesn’t disappoint. I cannot fault this book, Malerman has written a superb novel that will play with your mind long after finishing it.

Upon reflection, starting this book at midnight was not one of my smartest decisions, this book had me imagining all kinds of crazy scenarios…as someone  who likes to overthink things and has a very active imagination, ‘my mind has no ceiling’, I believed ‘they’ were really out there and ‘they’ were coming for me…

This book is available to buy now from: Amazon UK

 

Author: Keeper of Pages

Blogging about books and other bookish ramblings

11 thoughts on “Book Review: Bird Box by Josh Malerman”

  1. Ooooh this sounds scary but I’m still so intrigued! You now have me at a point where half of me feels like I desperately want to read it, and the other half is truly petrified! Will have to give this some serious thought though as I’m unfortunately one of those people that watch a scary film and don’t want to go to the toilet on my own at night for a week or so!😁🙈

    Like

    1. 😂😂 My advice to you would be: Read it in the day time! I get like that with certain films, I always start imagining I’m seeing things that aren’t really there (or maybe they are) so I either don’t watch them on my own or I watch them in the daylight. This book is so good though, be brave 😁

      Like

Leave a Reply

