Bookish Ramblings: Oh Illuminae, I didn’t know…YA, why?

I have no one to blame but myself! But oh hear my bookish woes…and the valuable lesson I have learnt. Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff. This book took bookstagram (the book community on Instagram) by storm. I saw, like, a trillion posts about this book; everything from its awesome orange cover to the amazing way the story is told! I knew this was a Young Adult (YA) Fiction book but I didn’t care, I’m trying to read more YA anyway, I wanted in! I ordered my copy, and it sat looking gorgeous on my shelves, until I picked it a few days ago and today I am putting it back down…without finishing it…

Let me first tell you what it’s about, then this rambling will make a whole lot more sense and you can laugh at me for being so silly!

From the back cover:

The year is 2575 and two mega-corporations are at war over a planet that’s a little more than an ice covered speck.

Too bad nobody thought to warn the people living on it. With enemy fire raining down on them, Ezra and Kady have to make their escape on the evacuating fleet. But their troubles are just beginning. A deadly plague has broken out on one of the spaceships and it is mutating with terrifying results. Their ship’s protection is seriously flawed. No one will say what is going on.

As Kady hacks into a tangled web of data to find the truth, it’s clear only one person can help her. Ezra. And the only problem with that is they split up before all this trouble started and she isn’t supposed to be talking to him.

Where my woes began:

“The year is 2575…”, 2575 – this is science-fiction! No! I didn’t know! That’s right folks, I bought this book without even reading the synopsis, having absolutely no idea what it was about, not even an inkling! Most of the posts on bookstgram were of the cover, I kept seeing the caption on the front “First, survive. Then tell the truth” and I thought that sounds so cool.

I don’t read much sci-fi , after romance, it’s probably my least favourite genre. However, I have read a few sci-fi books and really enjoyed them. Such as The Water Knife by Paolo Bacigalupi and False Hearts by Laura Lam, so what made me enjoy these sci-fi books so much? They have a strong crime theme within them, essentially they are both futuristic crime thrillers…and dare I say it…they are not YA.

So for now, ‘Illuminae’ goes back on the shelf; the strange thing is, I like the characters and the elements of humour, I particularly liked reading Kady’s journal entries. The illustrations are very cool. I just couldn’t connect with the story. I did read the last few pages so I know how it ends, that counts for something right?  I would, however, be very interested in watching a film adaptation of the book as I have no problem with sci-fi movies, weird huh? I’m in no way trying to discourage anyone from reading the book; imagine me saying “I don’t like chocolate” and you giving me a Galaxy Bar to eat, I don’t like chocolate so I cannot fairly comment on it, I bit into it to be polite, all the while knowing it’s not for me.

Now it’s not that I dislike YA, I just seem to always pick up the wrong book. This love/hate relationship continues, I want to love it but it keeps rejecting me. Or maybe I just need to figure out which specific sub-genres of YA, if any, besides mystery/thriller, I actually like.

I will be reading ‘The Girl At Midnight’ by Melissa Grey (YA Fantasy) this month  with my book club. I’m hoping I enjoy it as I have several YA Fantasy books on my shelves waiting to be read. Why do I have these books, because ‘Illuminae’ is not the first time this has happened…

You may remember seeing these books all over bookstagram:

The Dorothy Must Die series by  Danielle Paige

Dorothy must die series

Yep, I own the first two books in this series, again bought having absolutely no idea what they were about. After my shock of ‘Illuminae’ being sci-fi, I typed ‘Dorothy Must Die’ into Amazon and what so happened to be this books top ranking:

Book > Young Adult > Love and Romance > Paranormal & Fantasy

Argh….Love and Romance…what genre do I dislike even more than sci-fi!? ROMANCE!

Lessons have been learnt here, ladies and gentlemen, lessons have been learnt!

*I haven’t read ‘Dorothy Must Die’ or ‘The Wicked Will Rise’ yet, so fingers crossed it’s more fantasy than romance. If you’ve read it, let me know.

If you’re still with me at the end of this post, thank you for listening to my bookish woes. I listen just as good as I ramble so share your bookish woes with me or laugh at me in the comments. I’m okay with either!

 

Author: Keeper of Pages

Blogging about books and other bookish ramblings

5 thoughts on “Bookish Ramblings: Oh Illuminae, I didn’t know…YA, why?”

    1. Illuminae is sci-fi. It’s the Dorothy Must Die series that is categorised under Romance on Amazon. Omg someone else who DNF Illuminae, I thought I was the only one….what didn’t you like about it?

      Like

Leave a Reply

