Book Review: The Kind Worth Killing by Peter Swanson

tkwk-peter-swanson

I devoured this great thriller over the weekend, it was so fast-paced, I flew threw it. For the first time in a long time (if at all), a book that has been adequately likened to ‘Gone Girl’, I echo the words of Daisy Goodwin, this book is indeed “Gone Girl on speed”…

From the back cover:

When his flight gets delayed. Ted Severson meets Lily, a magnetic stranger, in the airport bar. In the netherworld of international travel and too many martinis, he confesses his darkest secrets, about his wife infidelity and how he wishes her dead. Without missing a beat she offers to help him carry out the task…

My Thoughts:

Love, lies and deceit, plotting murder and actual murder – this book is a thrill seekers dream! Again, this is one of those books that’s difficult to talk about in detail, without giving too much away, the plot albeit quite simple (it’s exactly what the blurb states and implies), does throw in a few twists. Though they weren’t monumental, they were perfect to keep the fast-paced flow of the story exciting.

The characters were thoroughly entertaining, particularly Lily, who fast became my favourite – she was cool, calm and cunning; it appears I have a liking for characters who have the ability to meticulously plot murder! The chapters alternate between the characters and I enjoyed every character’s narrative.

Do yourself a favour and read this book, you won’t regret it. I’ll wrap this review up with the awesome quote from the badass Lily Kintner:

“Truthfully, I don’t think murder is necessarily as bad as people make it out to be. Everyone dies. What difference does it make if a few bad apples get pushed along a little sooner than God intended? And your wife, for example, seems the kind worth killing.”

This book is available to buy now from: Amazon UK

Author: Keeper of Pages

Blogging about books and other bookish ramblings

9 thoughts on “Book Review: The Kind Worth Killing by Peter Swanson”

    1. I read TWIC 10 pre-blog, I loved it!! You’ve given me a great idea 💡 I should maybe copy over my book reviews from Goodreads to the blog!
      The Kind Worth Killing is so thrilling, I didn’t know I could read that fast haha!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I LOVED this! 🙂 I read The couple next door this year and I think theyre similar because all the characters are so cold and cunning. You hate them but theyre fascinating XD

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

