Book Box Unboxing: The Mystery Book Box

In my hunt for the perfect book box, when browsing bookstagram, I discovered a new box and managed to get my hands on one of the first boxes! All the items in this box were handmade by The Mystery Book Box team and the book is pre-loved.  If you are currently waiting for the October box, please note: major spoilers follow. While everyone receives the same bookish items, the books differ (due to them being pre-loved). I purchased this box, it was not given to me in exchange for a review…

The theme for this box was: Pumpkin Pie

Due to this being the first box, I had not idea what to expect as there were no previous unboxing pictures. The box wasn’t customised when it arrived but again, I state, I’m a keeper of pages, not a keeper of boxes so I didn’t mind at all. Upon opening the box, I was greeted with a lovely card, welcoming me to the box and detailing what was inside.

So what was inside:

pumpkin-and-print

I’ll start with my two favourite items. This lovely soft pumpkin, not only will it make a great bookstagram prop but it looks adorable on my bookshelf. Along side this gorgeous pumpkin print, made using ink and watercolours. I never knew these two things were missing from my life until I received them, now I don’t know how I lived without them haha.

candle

Is a book box ever really complete without a candle!? All year round I burn candles so I was delighted to see this beauty inside. The scent is: warm spices and crisp apples – The perfect scent for Autumn.

print-and-bracelet

Next up, this thoughtful ‘Reasons Why Autumn is the Best’ Card, with a lovely leafy print border. While I agree with all the bullet points, I secretly wish the card has been left blank so you could write your own message. The bracelet is cute, I’m not sure if I’ll wear it but it is a very box worthy item.

The Book

wrapped-book

The moment of truth has arrived. As all books are pre-loved, while you may get some spoilers of the bookish items, it’s unlikely you will see a book spoiler. I purchased this as a one-off box but if you are a subscriber, the team keeps track of the all the books they have sent you previously to ensure you do not receive the same book twice but if you buy a one-off box, there’s a small possibility you may receive the same book twice.

So what was my book?

book

Elizabeth is Missing by Emma Healey.

No no no no no no no, say it ain’t so! Everything was going great up until this point. Not only have I already read this book, I didn’t really enjoy it. If you follow my bookstagram or have seen my book review pictures with the book lying on torn out book pages, those book pages actually come from my copy of Elizabeth is Missing!

This is the nature of surprise book boxes, there’s always a possibility you will get a book you already have or a book you don’t go on to enjoy when you read it. So this in no way a criticism of The Mystery Book Box.

Shipping and Cost

Boxes are sent out between the 10th and 14th of every month. As well as a monthly subscription, they offer one-off boxes, for a total of £18.99 plus shipping (Shipping within the UK is £3.00 and International shipping is £13.00. Every month the theme is different and you get a preloved book along with 4-6 handmade items.

So would I subscribe?

You all know how I feel about commitment haha…. but I do like the price of this box, compared to the £30 mark a lot of boxes are priced at. However, I’m discouraged as each month the genre of book may vary and I’m not a reader of all genres. I received a crime novel but some other readers received a black magic fantasy novel. While I wouldn’t have been disappointed to receive the fantasy book, what if one month I received a Contemporary Romance book (the horror doesn’t bare thinking about haha!), although I suppose sometimes you could guess from the theme what the genre of book might be.

Next months theme is: Gunpowder, Treason and Plot…..Now that does sound like my kind of theme so you might just see The Mystery Book Box returning to the blog next month for another unboxing.

open-box

Is this box worth its buck, I’ve unboxed it, let me know what you think?

More information about The Mystery Book Box can be found at:

Website: www.themysterybookbox.subbly.co

Instagram: themysterybookbox

Twitter: themysterybookbox

Author: Keeper of Pages

Blogging about books and other bookish ramblings

14 thoughts on “Book Box Unboxing: The Mystery Book Box”

  1. Thank you for such an honest unboxing, and I’m sorry that you weren’t a fan of your book! It least you’ll have a lot of pages for backgrounds now! 😀

    Elanor

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It happens, it’s the nature of book boxes.
      I really like that the items are handmade. And congratulations, your box is out in the world now, you must be very excited as the unboxing pictures start appearing!
      And great theme choice for next month!!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m glad you like all the handmade-ness! And I’m very excited about the box, I can’t wait too see what next month brings 😀

        Elanor

        P.S I’m not big on Modern Romance novels either so you probably don’t have to worry about getting any 😉

        Liked by 1 person

    1. I agree, but liking all the other items does go along way to helping (and at least I’m not out of pocket £30+, like I may have been with some of the others). Despite getting a book I already, I’m still tempted to get next months box because of the theme 🙈

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Ouchh… a book you had already read, that’s unfortunate. This one doesn’t seem so expensive, thought. You made me laugh with the whole “romance” thing, I wouldn’t want that either xDD

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah the price is not too bad, I think that’s why I’m not too gutted, if I’d have spend £30+ it’d be a different story. I’m still debating do I or don’t I get next months box, I like the theme so much!

      All that lovey dovey mush, urgh, no thanks haha

      Liked by 1 person

  3. This was a great review; I loved that you constructively explained what worked and what didn’t work for you-some reviews I see of book boxes can come across biased at times. What a shame that the book was something that you both own and dislike, it’s really the worst case book box scenario! I’ve seen Elizabeth is Missing around the place, keep wondering whether I should read it or not…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! I can only be honest, I’d feel terrible if I was bias and someone else purchased the box based on my recommendation and then were deeply disappointed. I purchased this box also, the creator didn’t even know I was doing a review…maybe sometimes if people get a box for review they feel they have to be biased. I was intrigued enough by this box to buy next months one so we’ll see what that box holds and the theme was too awesome to miss lol. If you live in the U.K., I’m happy to send you my copy (as I’ve got a spare lol) so if you ever feel like reading it, you’ve got one…just let me know 😊

      Like

Leave a Reply

