Book Review: Nevernight by Jay Kristoff

nevernight

Nevernight gets all the stars, five out of five stars doesn’t seem enough…please excuse me while I travel to the skies to get ALL THE STARS and chuck them at this book – IT’S THAT GOOD!

And I can happily tick another book off my Halloween read-a-thon TBR.

Challenge: Read a book after sunset (Fun Fact: the witching hour is 3am – 4am)

From the inside cover:

Destined to destroy empires, Mia Corvere is only ten years old when she is given her first lesson in death.

Six years later, the child raised in shadows takes her first steps towards keeping the promise she made on the day she lost everything.

But the chance to strike against such powerful enemies will be fleeting, so if she is to have her revenge, Mia must become a weapon without equal. She must prove herself against the deadliest of friends and enemies, and survive the tutelage of murderers, liars and daemons at the heart of a murder cult.

The Red Church is no ordinary school, but Mia is no ordinary student.
The shadows love her.
And they drink her fear.

[…and because this book is so awesome you also get a] From the back cover:

Be advised the pages in your hands speak of a girl who was to murder as maestros are to music.

A girl some called Pale Daughter. Or Kingmaker. Or Crow.

A killer of killers, whose tally of endings only the goddess and I truly know.

My Thoughts:

“Never flinch.” A cold whisper in her ear. “Never fear. And never, ever forget.”

Can I just quote line after line from this book. A lot has been written about this books writing style, some failed to get into the story due to its writing style, others (like me) loved this book for it!

I don’t want to go into the plot too much for fear of spoilers, but this book is, in short, about a school of assassins, training to ‘make the cut’ to become Blades to serve The Lady of Blessed Murder. Bare in mind the #stabstabstab hashtag that accompanies this book all over social media – so expect a lot of violence, swearing, sex scenes, you get my drift, this is not a PG read. The protagonist, Mia, what a great character – a bad-ass assassin in training – we journey with Mia through her training as she tries to make the grade and we learn about her past, how a sixteen year old girl came to be at such a school. I liked all the characters in this book, the main characters were memorable and all had a purpose.

I don’t know much at all about fantasy books but I understand now what people mean when they talk about ‘world-building’. Kristoff turned a fictional land into a very real place, I could picture it in my mind, and the names of the places (eg. “Godsgrave”), the names of the seas (eg. “Sea of Silence”), fantastic, the beautifully illustrated maps were a lovely touch too!

What I really liked about this book is that it brought to mind some of my favourite things. Firstly, it reminded me of Assassin’s Creed, I’ve not read the book yet but I have dedicated several years of my life to the computer game. The setting in this book reminded me of an ancient time, and I pictured assassin’s roaming the streets, moving in the shadows. Secondly, in the school there are several rooms dedicated to teaching the acolytes (the trainee-assassins) different skills, one of which is the ‘Hall of Masks’ and it reminded me of Game of Thrones – the techniques of the faceless men who serve the Many-Faced God. The idea that you can use your features as a weapon. And lastly, they’re in a school, there’s magic, need I say more… (in case I do, that was as reference to Harry Potter).

For me, this is how fantasy books should be written, Mister Kristoff has set the benchmark for which all my future fantasy reads will be judged against! And as if I’m not excited enough at having read this book, it’s worth mentioning this book is ‘The Nevernight Chronicle #1’, so there is going to be a #2!? Can someone confirm that please so I can sleep easy at night.

I don’t really need to talk about the amazing cover of this book, both the UK and US version, they speak for themselves – #coverlove

I highly recommend you experience the darkness of Nevernight and read this book!

This book is available to buy now from: Amazon UK

Author: Keeper of Pages

Blogging about books and other bookish ramblings

7 thoughts on “Book Review: Nevernight by Jay Kristoff”

Leave a Reply

