Monthly Summary: October 2016 Wrap Up

Hello November! A new month and new pages to discover. Let’s say goodbye to October in true bookish style – with a monthly wrap up.

I’m now into my third month at university, so I’m chuffed that I managed to read 14 books this month.

The Good

The stand out 5 stars reads of the month were:

The Kind Worth Killing by Peter Swanson, a super fast-paced thriller that I highly recommend to everyone – you can read my review here.

The Killing Game by J. S. Carol, another fast-paced crime thriller that really got the adrenaline pumping – review here.

Dark Water by Robert Brynzda, book 3 in the DCI Erika Foster series – review here – if haven’t started this series yet, I highly recommend you do!

This month I also completed a Halloween 6 book read-a-thon, you can catch up with the outcome of that here, as I’ll leave those 6 books out of this wrap up (except for Dark Water, which I mentioned above – some books are so good they need to be mentioned twice ;-))

I was lucky enough to receive a handful of review copies this month, two of which I managed to read and review. Blind Side by Jennie Ensor, a thought-provoking read about a love triangle set before and after 7/7 – review here.

And The Good Sisters by Helen Phifer, a creepy read that confirms biblical thrillers scare me – review here.

I finally downloaded the app to borrow e-books from my local library and the first ebook I borrowed was Assassin’s Creed: Renaissance by Oliver Bowden. I chose not to review this book on the blog, only because my review would be so short – this book is basically the script for the computer game. Bowden researched the game so well, the book is almost identical to the game. Assassin’s Creed is my favourite game so it was nice to reminisce through the book about my gaming days.

Looking forward I plan to take full advantage of borrowing ebooks, no need to remember ‘due back’ dates, when my time is up on the loan, the book simply vanishes from my device – no more late fees for me! I’m currently in the queue for His Bloody Project by Graeme Macrae Burnet.

*Buddy Reads*

I buddy read two books with my good friend, Amy, our consensus on the The Widow is that it fell prey to marketing (review here). However, we both loved Eeny Meeny, it was a re-read for me but I enjoyed it just as much as the first time I read it. It was the first time Amy met DI Helen Grace, and she’s now a fan, so much so we decided to buddy read the rest of the series together. The buddy read book review will be up tomorrow.

I managed to clear another book listed in the Amazon 100 Crime and Thrillers to read in a Life Time: Along Came A Spider by James Patterson – review here. Well, two if you include Eeny Meeny as that’s also listed.

The Bad

Nothing to mention here so please enjoy this picture of all the physical books I read this month.

oct-books-read

The New

Alongside this month’s review copies, I did manage to get through a few of my owned books, however, I acquire 20 new books, bringing my current owned books to read total to 139 books (according to Goodreads), although I’m sure it’s actually higher!

Here are the newest additions:

  1. The Ice Beneath Her by Camilla Grebe
  2. The Hidden Legacy by G. J. Minett
  3. Playing With Fire by Tess Gerritsen
  4. Six of Crow by Leigh Bardugo
  5. Lie Still by Juila Heaberlin
  6. Local Girl Missing by Claire Douglas
  7. Slade House by David Mitchell
  8. Inside Alcatraz by Jim Quillen
  9. The Book of Memory by Petina Gappash
  10. The Devotion of Suspect X by Keigo Higashino
  11. Getting Life by Michael Morton
  12. The Long and Faraway Gone by Lou Berney
  13. A Tiny Feeling of Fear by M. Jonathan Lee
  14. The Walking Dead: The Fall of the Govnor pt. 1 by Robert Kirkman
  15. Evelyn, After by Victoria Helen Stone
  16. Before I Let You In by Jenny Blackhurst
  17. Murder in Adland by Bruce Beckham
  18. Shallow Waters by Rebecca Bradley
  19. What Remains of Me by A. L. Gaylin
  20. The Good Kind of Bad by Rita Brassington

oct-book-haul

To Review

The next 4 review copies I’ll be working my way through, starting with The Doll Funeral, are:

So, there we have it folks, my month in books. I can’t believe on the 18th November, my blog will be 3 months old. I feel like I’ve been blogging for ages and that’s down to you all, what an amazing community to be part of!

How’s your month been?

Make me feel better about my book purchases, how many books did you buy this month?

What were the stand out books for you this month?

Author: Keeper of Pages

Blogging about books and other bookish ramblings

6 thoughts on “Monthly Summary: October 2016 Wrap Up”

Leave a Reply

