Standalone Sunday: Watching Edie by Camilla Way

Standalone Sunday is a feature created by Megan @ BookslayerReads; book series are all the rage at the moment, so Megan thought it’d be nice to shine some light on books that are not part of a series. Be sure to head over to Megan’s blog to see her book choice and the other bloggers that take part in this new feature. So for my first Standalone Sunday post, I thought I’d share with you a book review for a psychological thriller I read pre-blog: Watching Edie by Camilla Way.

watching-edie-camilla-way

Book Description:

Beautiful, creative, a little wild… Edie was the kind of girl who immediately caused a stir when she walked into your life. And she had dreams back then—but it didn’t take long for her to learn that things don’t always turn out the way you want them to.

Now, at thirty-three, Edie is working as a waitress, pregnant and alone. And when she becomes overwhelmed by the needs of her new baby and sinks into a bleak despair, she thinks that there’s no one to turn to…

But someone’s been watching Edie, waiting for the chance to prove once again what a perfect friend she can be. It’s no coincidence that Heather shows up on Edie’s doorstep, just when Edie needs her the most. So much has passed between them—so much envy, longing, and betrayal. And Edie’s about to learn a new lesson: those who have hurt us deeply—or who we have hurt—never let us go, not entirely…

My Thoughts:

Edie moves to a new town and starts at a new school; though she is what we could deem popular, she doesn’t hang around with the popular girls, instead she befriends Heather, who is unpopular, slightly odd and slightly obsessed. Both girls have experienced trauma from their childhood and this brings them closer together. Then Edie meets the boy of her dreams and this tears them apart.

Sixteen years later, Edie is pregnant and working as a waitress, Heather turns up unexpectedly but Edie thinks it’s best to leave the past in the past. However, when the baby arrives Edie struggles to cope and is grateful when Heather returns….well grateful at first, until she realises Heather may still be odd and obsessed and has brought the past with her.

This story is told from two perspectives “Before” narrated by Heather and “After” narrated by Edie, this works really well to build a clear picture of both past events and what is happening in the present day. It’s an intriguing read because I found myself questioning both girls, when Edie was narrating in the present, I was ‘Team Edie’ and wishing Heather would let whatever it was go. In the next chapter Heather was narrating and while I’m not ‘Team Heather’, I did find myself thinking Edie doesn’t seem like she was a good friend, what did she do to Heather that was so bad?

In the story we also meet Edie’s neighbour Monica, this adds another dimension to the story as Monica is escaping her own trauma. The characters in this story really get the reader thinking about family-ties, friendship, betrayal, trust, and forgiveness.

A great psychological thriller often leaves the reader with questions: what would I do in this situation, would I forgive, are some things unforgivable? If a person makes a terrible mistake 16 years ago, can they right that wrong today? We know past experiences shape us for the future, can those past experiences justify future actions? This book really got inside my head and I found myself thinking about both Heather and Edie, long after I put the book down.

This is the beautifully haunting story of friendship and betrayal, a past that you can’t run from or ignore no matter how much you try.

This book is available now from: Amazon UK

Author: Keeper of Pages

Blogging about books and other bookish ramblings

10 thoughts on “Standalone Sunday: Watching Edie by Camilla Way”

      1. It’s about to go up! It’s been such a long day for me. I’m glad it’s coming to a close lol. And yeah, I know! My TBR is already overloaded with 1800+ books!! I need to do some Spring Cleaning. Or I guess Winter Cleaning, I should say. Lol

        Liked by 1 person

  1. This sounds so interesting! I’ve been wanting to dip into psychological thrillers for a while now, but never seem to find any books that really peak my interest. Great review!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

