Book Review: Final Girls by Riley Sager

final-girls-by-riley-sager

I was trying my hardest not to read this book yet as its publication date is not until the summer, but after seeing all the advanced praise for Final Girls, I could wait no longer.

Book Description:

Each girl survived an unthinkable horror. Now someone wants them dead…

They were the victims of separate massacres. Grouped together by the press, and dubbed the Final Girls, they are treated like something fresh out of a slasher movie.

When something terrible happens to Lisa, put-together Quincy and volatile Sam finally meet. Each one influences the other. Each one has dark secrets. And after the bloodstained fingers of the past reach into the present, each one will never be the same.

My Thoughts:

No one wants to be a Final Girl, to be a member of this club, you must be the lone survivor of a massacre. Quincy, with the help of her Xanax prescription and no memory of the events that happened ten years ago on the night of the Pine Cottage massacre, is adamant that she is not a Final Girl. Focusing on her baking blog she is avoiding all media attention. That is until Sam, a fellow Final Girl, gets in contact and Quincy must now relive the events of that fateful night.

With its thrilling opening, I was pulled into this story right away; Quincy soaked in blood, running through the forest, the lone survivor of the Pine Cottage Massacre. The story is then narrated by Quincy in the present tense, as her life is turned upside down by the arrival of Sam. Quincy believes her and Sam, despite it being their first meeting, have an unbreakable bond but the more she gets to know Sam the more she’s not sure she can trust her. As the reader, you’re not sure if you can trust Sam either, and this makes for great reading as you are constantly  wondering what Sam’s agenda really is, adding a great suspenseful element to the plot.

By the mid-way point of the novel, I wasn’t feeling the excitement I had hoped for, and I worried this would be another psychological thriller that has all the right ingredients but ending up falling short for me. But then Sager threw in another red herring and my excitement levels were right back where they should be.

Interspersed throughout the novel are flashbacks to the night of the Pine Cottage Massacre, these were my favourite parts of the book as they continued to build on the already suspenseful narrative of the present day, building to the big reveal of what really happened that night. And when the big reveal came, it did not disappoint (and neither did the reveal that came before that).

Final Girls is full of twists and turns, two in particular that I absolutely loved and did not see coming, it’s fast-paced, thrilling, a good solid debut from Riley Sager that I recommend to fans of psychological thrillers.

*My thanks to the author (Riley Sager) and publisher (Ebury Press) for granting me access to a digital copy of this book via Netgalley*

This book is available to pre-order from: Amazon UK / Book Depository (release date: 13/07/17)

Author: Keeper of Pages

Blogging about books and other bookish ramblings

20 thoughts on “Book Review: Final Girls by Riley Sager”

      1. It really is, I was just thinking earlier today that I really have an addiction to it. I need to stop requesting more than I can read. So difficult though with such interesting titles out there!

        Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s crazy, cos after reading for a while I thought ‘argh, things are starting to drag now, when will something happen now…’ then a few pages later it happened and the relief I felt was second to none 😂 it’s like the book said, ‘Janel, I’m not done with you yet!’ I’m so happy I listened as it’s been hit and miss with psych thrillers lately but this one was definitely a hit!

      Like

Leave a Reply

