February 2017 #WrapUp

The last day of the shortest month of the year is upon us, and that can only mean one thing, it’s wrap up time!

I read 9 books this month, down one on last month, but I’m happy with that number – I was aiming for 10 but February robbed me of 4 days, so really, I’m reading right on schedule! However, I’m still behind with reviews, but it’s likely to remain that way for the foreseeable future because not only am I the Keeper of Pages, I am also the Queen of Procrastination! Enough rambling, let’s take a look at what I’ve read this month…

The Good:

The standout reads of the month were:

Deep Down Dead by Steph Broadribb, an absolutely amazing, fast-paced, action thriller that set my heart pumping and my adrenaline racing! You can read my review of this smashing debut here.

Kill the Father by Sandrone Dazieri, an international bestseller for fans of mystery and thriller books. Set in Rome, with a complex plot designed to pull you in – reviewed here.

Burial Rites by Hannah Kent, in equal measures, it’s dark, moody, tragic, hauntingly beautiful and based on a true story – reviewed here.

death-in-profile-guy-fraser-sampson

Also read, reviewed and recommended this month was Death in Profile by Guy Fraser-Sampson.

On the blog next month will be reviews for these four books I read this month:

The Bad:

Okay, so I still haven’t renamed this section of the wrap up. Each month I hope no book will feature here so I don’t need to change the name but alas, there is one.

trust-no-one-paul-cleave

Trust No One by Paul Cleave was just not my cup of tea at all.

Bookish Bingo:

I haven’t mentioned Bookish Bingo since my mid-point update so what better time than now, especially because the end of February concludes the winter edition of Bookish Bingo. So without further ado, let’s take a look at the final standings. The purple dabbed squares are the books read since the mid-point update.

bookish-bingo-winter

Set Abroad: The Hummingbird – Kati Hiekkapelto (country: Finland)

Own Voices: Americanah – Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

2017 Debut: Dare to Remember – Susanna Beard

Romance: The Ballroom – Anna Hope

Goodreads Choice Nominee: The Couple Next Door – Shari Lapena

Not YA: Deep Down Dead – Steph Broadribb

White Cover: Trust No One – Paul Cleave

Free: as the best things in life generally are.

Dec, Jan, Feb Release: The Girl Before – J. P. Delaney (January release)

Crime: Witness – Caroline Mitchell

Survival: The River at Night – Erica Ferencik

Blue Cover: The Mine – Antti Tuomainen

Twitter Poll: Burial Rites – Hannah Kent

Nature on Cover: I’m Travelling Alone – Samuel Bjork

Cover Buy: Perfume by Patrick Suskind

Everyone take a deep breath and shout BINGO! I would like to have completed more squares because I like to over-achieve in life but I can’t complain, I did alright. Bookish Bingo is created by PrettyDeadlyReviews, it’s a fantastic idea and I’ve enjoyed taking part.

The New:

In case you missed it, this section has grown up and now has a blog post all to itself, which is posted on the second from last day of each month. But for your convenience, February’s book haul can be found here.

And that concludes February’s wrap up.

How many books did you read this month, any 5 star reads?

What were your bookish highlights of the month?

Author: Keeper of Pages

Blogging about books and other bookish ramblings

21 thoughts on “February 2017 #WrapUp”

  1. I quite enjoyed Death in Profile, too, when I read it. Looks like you’re read some good-ens this month! I look forward to your review of the Roanoke Girls. My Feb wrap-up is going up later in the day 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know right, there’s no pleasing some people 🙄😂
      They’re the first 3 reviews of March, The Roanoke Girls is going up tomorrow, and the others have been written. Towards the end of the month, I always run out of days to post haha. And thanks, if my review commitments weren’t so much, I’d take part again and get more bingos! 😂

      Like

  2. Some great reads in there Janel, pity those reviews keep getting in the way eh? If you enjouyed Death in Profile, never fear Miss Christie Regrets is written in the same vein. For once that was one I’ve actually read and reviewed.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha good to know, hoping to get to Miss C Regrets in a few books time. This month I’m going to work hard on review copies to get them to a manageable amount. I’m so thankful for the review copies I get but I didn’t realise before I started blogging how difficult it would be to manage. If by April, I’m not reading more of my own books, I’m going to stop accepting review copies for a little while. I buy so many new books, at this rate, they’ll be old and gathering dust before I get to read them!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. A common problem, I think we’re all in the same boat. I rarely get books in the post, but there is always the temptation of NetGalley. I’ve put a hold on accepting requests now. My hope this year was to read one of my own books each month – so far a big fat zero!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I used to get stressed in the beginning. Now I just say, it’s not a job, I’m doing this for nothing and a late review is better than no review. My intention is to get all my review books read so my conscience is clear on that score. I aim to read all the personal request books to my agreed time and just do my best. Life gets in the way sometimes and tbh in the scheme of things, far bigger things in life to stress about (like Spanish homework – hahaha). I also know I’m responsible for creating the situation so changes need to be made going forward which is a positive stance. I’ve got a diary for all reviews so going forward I’m only allowing 1 per week. Of course the best laid plans … Just remember it’s supposed to be fun xx

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

