Book Box Unboxing: Ninja Book Box (A Shakespearean Mystery)

Ninja Book Box.jpg

It’s been a while since I’ve done an unboxing…but it’s time! When I saw Jo @ Jo’s Book Blog’s unboxing of the November Ninja Book Box, I was gutted they sold out before I had the chance to get one, this box is quarterly so I had a long wait till February for the next box, but it was worth the wait. This box features books from independent publishers across a variety of genres, in each box you receive a new book and some bookish items relating to the boxes theme. I purchased this box, it was not given to me in exchange for a review…

The theme for February’s box was: A Shakespearean Mystery

Ninja Book Box wrapped

The items in this box were very well packaged, it was accompanied by, not only a description of the boxes contents but a lovely note explaining why the book was chosen and suggestions for other reading and viewing  related to the theme – this came inside the envelope to avoid spoilers, which was a lovely idea as some people like to begin a read ‘blind’, without kn0wing too much information about the book before they read it. Inside the box also, was a lovely postcard reading, “To pore upon a book…..To see the light of truth”, more decoration for my bookshelf! And a ninja recipe to make mini apple pies.

So what else was inside:

Cards

From The Heritage Playing Card Company – Shakespeare’s Flowers playing cards – these playing cards contain illustrations of 54 different flowers, showing their Latin and English names, accompanied by companion quotes from Shakespeare. I also like that this item was accompanied by information on two Shakespearean themed card games.

Notebook

I’m a stationery lover so this cute notebook and pencil were appreciated. The notebook was custom made by HeyKatie Designs so that makes it a little bit more special. 

Tea

I’m a serial tea and coffee drinker so this was always going to be my favourite item – Shakespearean themed tea from Rosie Lee Tea in the following flavours:

“Double, double, toil and trouble!” – Macbeth – A riot of fruity flavours in each and every cup. A wonderful mix of real berries, flowers and fruits, this really is a fantastic fresh tasting infusion. <— I love fruity teas – win!

“The course of true love never did run smooth” – A Midsummer Nights Dream – A truly wonderful mix of chamomile, lavender and passion flower. This is a wonderful all natural relaxant that has been known to aid a restful sleep. <— I do try to have a chamomile tea before bed so another win!

“Better a witty fool than a foolish wit” – Twelfth Night – a bright blend of wonderful high grade Sencha enhanced by the saltyness from Seabuck Thorn and the blue cornflower reflecting our own fresh sea air and glorious coastline. <— I have no idea what any of that is or means or tastes like but I’ll have a cup of it anyway!

Charm

The last item in the box was this adorable ink charm – each box contains a charm relating to the book.

The Book:

A historical fiction book about books: The Bookman’s Tale by Charlie Lovett

Book

After the death of his wife, Peter Byerly, a young antiquarian bookseller, relocates from the States to the English countryside, where he hopes to rediscover the joys of life through his passion for collecting and restoring rare books. But when he opens an eighteenth-century study on Shakespeare forgeries, he is shocked to find a Victorian portrait strikingly similar to his wife tumble out of its pages, and becomes obsessed with tracking down its origins. As he follows the trail back to the nineteenth century and then to Shakespeare’s time, Peter learns the truth about his own past and unearths a book that might prove that Shakespeare was indeed the author of all his plays.

I’m happy with the book, it’s one I haven’t heard of before but after reading the blurb, I’m interested and it’s a welcomed addition to my TBR.

Shipping and Cost:

Boxes are sent out quarterly, you can subscribe or purchase a one-off/gift box, as I did, for £29.99 – discount codes are available if you sign up to the newsletter so I’d recommend doing that if you want to give this box a try. You make a saving if you purchase an annual subscription. As this box is UK based, shipping within the UK is free! Ninja Book Box does ship internationally but you’ll have to check their website for postage prices. Every month you receive a brand new book (not necessary a brand new release) and a minimum of two gifts relating to the theme and additional items and an invitation to join their private book group and talk all things bookish! For me personally, this book box is on the pricey side, especially for the amount of items you receive but it’s worth it to know that not only am I supporting independent publishers but the local small run businesses who supply the items.

So would I subscribe:

Hmm, I’m getting over my commitment issues but…. this box features titles from independent publishers across the UK (which I really like) in a variety of genres, including (but not limited to): contemporary fiction, graphic novels, science fiction, mystery, historical fiction and fantasy. As someone who tends to stick to the same genres, I’d worry I would receive a book I wouldn’t enjoy as it’s from a genre I have no real interest in. However, I will check in quarterly, and if I like the theme, I’ll purchase another single box. From the title of this boxes theme – A Shakespearean Mystery – I guessed and then hoped the book would be either a mystery book or historical fiction and it was, so I’m happy! At the time of writing this post, May’s theme hasn’t been announced yet so I can’t comment on if I’m going to purchase it – I am signed up to the newsletter so once I get the email letting me know, I’ll make a decision.

Fully unboxed

Is this box worth its buck, I’ve unboxed it, let me know what you think?

More information about Ninja Book Box can be found at:

Website: www.ninjabookbox.com

Instagram: ninjabookbox

Twitter: @NinjaBookBox

Facebook: Ninja Book Box

Author: Keeper of Pages

Blogging about books and other bookish ramblings

16 thoughts on “Book Box Unboxing: Ninja Book Box (A Shakespearean Mystery)”

      1. Oh no, how frustrating. I’ve seen some really cool ones in the US, but shipping costs are ridiculous. I think I’ll just continue dipping in and out every time I like a theme rather than subscribe

        Liked by 1 person

  1. I’d love to taste the Macbeth tea ! It must be so great to receive a surprise box, and I like that everything is wrapped up again inside the box. The idea of the spoiler envelope is cool too, although I don’t know if I could leave it closed :-). Very cool box 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  2. This is the box that appeals the most to me, but living outside the UK and still being a student, any boxes will have to wait… ! 🙂 I’m glad you were happy with this one!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. International postage is so expensive, I’ve seen a few boxes in the US that I’d love to get but it’s like paying double the price when you factor in shipping costs 😔 book boxes are still a fairly new craze, I’m sure a few more will pop up

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Sorry! I didn’t mean to be vague or mysterious – I still trying to find time to do an unboxing of my own. The mini box provides the book, one of the gifts (in this case the tea) and the charm (although that was sadly missing from mine!)
        To be honest, for the price, I probably wouldn’t do it again – I’d probably just go for the full box if I was interested in the theme, as per your thoughts on genre 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Interesting, I like the idea of the mini box though but I guess with the quantity of items, you may as well just get the full box. Have you seen Mays theme? I got the email, I think I’m going to skip that box

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

