Book Review: Frailty by Betsy Reavley

Frailty - Betsy Reavley

I was checking out on Amazon a week or so ago and in my haste to place my order, I accidentally clicked the ’30-day Amazon Prime trial’ button. At first, I was deeply annoyed, but alas, I’m a member for a month so I thought I’d make use of the ‘borrow a book’ feature, I chose Frailty. Arguably, the best error and decision I’ve made in weeks, as I now have my second five star read of 2017!

Book Description:

How far would you go to protect your family?

Danny and Libby are about to face every parent’s worst nightmare. When eight-year-old Hope Bird disappears without a trace, from the idyllic village where she lives, life for her family will never be the same again. Her parents know she would never have gone off alone and the police have no idea where she is. Then a child’s shoe is discovered and the case takes an unexpected turn. Soon a suspect is identified but this is only the beginning.

Will they ever find Hope?

Frailty is a haunting, gritty, psychological page-turner about the choices we make.

My Thoughts:

From the prologue alone, I had a feeling, I was going to love this book; even though I figured out one of the shocking twists, it did nothing to detract from my enjoyment, in fact, it made the story even more frightening because […..insert spoiler here…..] I guess you’ll have to read it for yourself.

Hope Bird is missing, she’s only eight years old; Libby and Danny desperately want their daughter back but they try to carry on as best they can because they’ve got their younger daughter to think about – but how can you carry on as normal when your daughter is missing? The short answer – you can’t! Frailty is a gripping psychological thriller that plays out every parent’s worst nightmare, Reavley writes in such a way that the parent’s grief transcends off the page. I dare you to not become emotionally invested in this story! What cements the anguish and really pulls at your heartstrings are the interspersed chapters of Hope, narrated in first person, your anguish is intensified ten-fold, you’re ready to get a search party together to find and rescue Hope Bird… and then you remember this is fiction.

Throughout the book, you really get to know Libby and Danny, you get enough of their history to really like them as a couple, to want for nothing more than little Hope to be returned home to her parents. Reavley knows how to write suspense, taking you on a frightening journey and placing you, the reader, at the centre of the grief, and this is what keeps you turning pages. The pace isn’t particularly fast, that’s not what keeps you on the edge of your seat, it’s the suspense, that ‘need to know’ how the story unfolds.

As mentioned before, I did predict one twist but the way it was revealed did make me gasp, there were a few, I didn’t see coming and these took my breath away. It takes a talented author to write a piece of fiction that feels so real, that evokes real emotion in you, and really gets you thinking, god-forbid, what you would do in their situation, how far would you go to find your child, how far is too far, is there such a thing as ‘too far’ when your child is missing?

If you feel you’re seeing “too-much-of-the-same” in psychological thrillers, pick up this book and read it, it’ll restore your faith in the genre! I highly highly recommend this book!

This book is available to buy now from: Amazon UK

Author: Keeper of Pages

Blogging about books and other bookish ramblings

15 thoughts on “Book Review: Frailty by Betsy Reavley”

  1. I’m definitely on the outs with psych thrillers lately so you’ve got me tempted with this one…although I just finished a missing child book yesterday. But I have amazon prime and I never remember to get my free monthly book so this sounds like one I’ll give a try to, if you’re recommending it AND giving it 5 stars I’m in!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You should definitely get it one month as your prime book, if you often forget to select a book anyway then you’ve got nothing to lose but I’m sure you’ll enjoy it, in case I didn’t mention, it’s so so good! 😁 When I finished reading it, I was like yes, finally, this is the psychological thriller that I’d be waiting for and reminded me of all that’s good in the genre!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m impressed by the book if even if you managed to guess a twist, it kept on surprising you and you felt a true emotional connection with the characters. I’ve seen this book reviewed a couple of times but now I know I want to read it! Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I could have mentioned this one in my Rapid Fire Tag as an underrated book now that I come to think of it. This one made it in my top 2016 list because it could make me ‘feel’ so much. You’re so lucky you got it for free, I made my first contact with Bloodhound books because I really wanted to read this one after I read another one that’s just as awesome. I still have The Optician’s Wife on my reader too and I hear it’s also really good. A fantastic author to me and an excellent review! I saw one twist in the end coming too but it was still shocking and emotional!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s definitely an underrated book, I got to read it for free but it’s Amazon Prime so they delete it at the end of the month 😦 I definitely want to read more of her books, this one was so good, The Optician’s Wife does look really good so I might try that one next! I think that in itself speaks leaps and bound, that you can guess a twist and still five star the book, a great author indeed 😊

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

