Short Story Sunday: The Grownup by Gillian Flynn

The Grownup

It’s the first Sunday of May and that means it’s time for a short story review – this week I finally got around to reading The Grownup by Gillian Flynn.

From the back cover:

A young woman is making a living faking it as a cut-price psychic (with some illegal soft-core sex work on the side). She makes a decent wage mostly by telling people what they want to hear. But then she meets Susan Burke.

Susan moved to the city one year ago with her husband and 15-year-old stepson Miles. They live in a Victorian house called Carterhook Manor. Susan has become convinced that some malevolent spirit is inhabiting their home. The young woman doesn’t believe in exorcism or the supernatural. However when she enters the house for the first time, she begins to feel it too, as if the very house is watching her, waiting, biding its time. . .

My Thoughts:

Gillian Flynn is probably most well known for her book, Gone Girl, which I really enjoyed so I was excited to read this short story, until….. I started reading Dark Places and ended up not finishing it. That caused The Grownup to sit on my shelf for a considerably long time as I was worried which side of the fence I’d end up on but alas after reading it yesterday, I’m still on the fence….

Not because I didn’t like this one, I absolutely did! I enjoyed the humour of the main protagonist, who has to give up her profession as an ‘expert hand-job giver’ – her words not mine, due to the strain it puts on her wrist; she has now turned her hand (metaphorically) to being a psychic. The more time she spends in Carterhook manor getting to know Susan and her stepson, Miles, the more she wonders if the house is really haunted or if it’s the occupants who are evil.

This is essentially a mystery of who to trust – a woman who makes a living out of deception must now figure out if she is being deceived, an entertaining and quick read. My issue lies in the ending, now I’m often a fan of the open ending [when it’s done properly], I like that it leaves the book lingering in my mind as I weigh the information and decide who to believe, but here, the ending did nothing but frustrate me. As a short story, I don’t feel I was given enough information to make a decision and thus I’m left feeling the story is unfinished. I get what Flynn did with the ending but I guess I would have liked more of a hint on where the plot would have gone had it been a full novel.

But overall, If you can get your hands on a copy, at just under 70 pages, why not give it a read and see if your thoughts match up to mine.

This book is available to buy from: Amazon UK / Book Depository

***

Leave me a comment, recommend a short story, one you’ve read or one you’d like me to review.

Or jump on board, grab the banner or make your own, and share a review of a short story you’ve read, link back to me, I’d love to read it.

Author: Keeper of Pages

Blogging about books and other bookish ramblings

15 thoughts on “Short Story Sunday: The Grownup by Gillian Flynn”

  1. Yes I thought the same about the ending! I don’t need to be given all the answers but I didn’t know what to think! I did really enjoy it though, it was super creepy!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I do have a copy of this short story, though I still haven’t got round to reading it. I suppose because I thought Gone Girl was okay that I don’t have huge hopes for this story. No harm in trying, though.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I believe Danielle @ Books, Vertigo and Tea reviewed this a little while back and I remember thinking: whoa, this sounds ‘strong’! 🙂
    I do love short stories every now and again so I’ll keep it in mind! Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. It’s the only one of her books that I haven’t read. I really liked all of them but paying a lot for only 70 pages seemed a bit too much and is the only reason I still haven’t read this one. I’m not a fan of open endings though so I’m not sure if I’d like it as much as the others (which didn’t have open endings btw). Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

