May 2017 #WrapUp

Better late than never, lovely readers, it’s time to wrap up the month of May. In between long periods of procrastination, I submitted two 3,000 word coursework assignments, revised and sat a biology exam and still found time to read 13 books, so I’d say I had a productive month! I also bought a new car, which tops everything, I love it and will drive it for years to come, until it literally falls to pieces as I’m driving. Although, that does now mean I’m on a strict book buying ban, not even a 99p ebook, so if my fellow bloggers could hold back on their amazing reviews and book recommendations, I’d appreciate it – June’s book haul post shall be an interesting one.

That’s enough about me and my life, on to the books! I read some stellar books in May…

The Good:

The standout 5 star reads of the month were:

Phantom Limb by Lucinda Berry was a dark, twisted and intense read set in a psychiatric hospital – reviewed here.

Seas of Snow by Kerensa Jennings was exceptional, an emotionally charged read that shows what can happen when evil is a part of your family – reviewed here.

Two Lost Boys by L. F. Robertson tells the story of a death row lawyer who seeks to get her clients sentence reduce to life without parole but things are more complicated than she first thought; and the author is a practicing death row lawyer! Reviewed here.

I Found You by Lisa Jewell is a fantastic one sitting read that is perfect for mystery lovers – reviewed here.

Also read and reviewed this month:

The Girl Who Was Taken by Charlie Donlea

The Dry by Jane Harper

Defectors by Joseph Kanon

Beneath the Ashes by Jane Isaac

The Lies Within by Jane Isaac

Reviews coming soon:

Short Story Sunday – Mini Reviews:

The Grown Up by Gillian Flynn

Short Story Sunday fell by the way-side due to revision. Unfortunately, it’s going to fall by the way-side again for the month of June as I really want to focus on lowering my review copies so I can spend the later half of the year focusing on my reading my own books. Bar some book club and buddy reads I’ve got planned, it’s a sole focus on review copies.

Other bookish posts this month:

Harry Potter Book Tag

I’m not a huge Harry Potter fan and haven’t read any of the books after The Goblet of Fire but have you seen the 20th edition editions – they are gorgeous!!

The New:

To see the newest additions to my shelves, check out Urbane Book Club ‘Box’ and May’s Book Haul.

Criminally Good Book Club:

An online book club I started on Instagram, join us @criminallygoodbookclub and readalong. There’s also a discussion on the chosen book at the end of every month.

June’s book is The Magpies by Mark Edwards

The Magpies by Mark Edwards

When Jamie and Kirsty move into their first home together, they are full of optimism. The future, in which they plan to get married and start a family, is bright. The other residents of their building seem friendly too, including the Newtons, a married couple who welcome them to the building with open arms.

But then strange things start to happen. Dead rats are left on their doorstep. They hear disturbing noises, and much worse, in the night. After Jamie’s best friend is injured in a horrific accident, Jamie and Kirsty find themselves targeted by a campaign of terror.

As they are driven to the edge of despair, Jamie vows to fight back—but he has no idea what he is really up against . . .

The Magpies is a gripping psychological thriller in which the monsters are not vampires or demons but the people who live next door. It is a nightmare that could happen to anyone.

***

May is now officially all wrapped up! Wish me luck in my own personal Clear the Review Copies challenge. Until next time, I wish you all a very bookish June!

Author: Keeper of Pages

Blogging about books and other bookish ramblings

18 thoughts on “May 2017 #WrapUp”

  1. Congrats on the new car 😀 I’m also getting a new one later this month, to be able to travel back to my family and cross the channel to visit the UK, because my old cheap one would die hahaha!
    I also really appreciated Two Lost Boys, it was well-written! The ending felt a bit abrupt for me, but overall it was great! Ooooh I cannot wait for your review of Will to Live!! I love this series so much!!
    Have a wonderful June!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, I absolutely love it, I feel like it was worth driving my crappy car so I can truly appreciate this one 😂 I enjoyed Will To Live, but I just finished One To Watch and I enjoyed that one even more! It really is a great crime series, fast becoming one on my favs (up there along side the Erika Foster series!). Hope the purchase of your new car goes smooth and a happy June to you too 😊xx

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Lorraine, I’m so happy, is it weird that my new fav reading spot might just be my car. I definitely need the support, I was browsing Book Depository last night, I didn’t even have a book in mind and then I got the Kindle First email🙈 I think the key is to stay away from enablers haha!

      Like

    1. It’s not a book or author I’d heard of, it was picked by my book club cohost so I’m just as curious as you, my review will be up towards the end of the month 🙂 Happy reading to you too.x

      Like

  2. Good luck with the book buying ban! I said the same, and I’e already failed for June, although in my defence it was a book that I had pre-ordered a while ago and forgotten about! That’s acceptable, right!? I’m really looking forward to reading The Magpies! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yay, glad to have you reading back with Criminally Good Book Club! I think I’ll do well with the ban, as I bought the car, my bank balance says the ban is mandatory, not up for discussion 😂 And pre-ordered books totally don’t count!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

