Blog Tour | Review: The Silence by Katharine Johnson

The Silence Katharine Johnson

Today, I’ll be sharing my review of The Silence as part of the blog tour. But first, how gorgeous is this book’s cover, I love the striking contrast of the red and white on the grey background!?!

Book Description:

Doctor Abby Fenton has a rewarding career, a loving family, an enviable lifestyle – and a secret that could destroy everything.

When human remains are discovered in the grounds of an idyllic Tuscan holiday home she is forced to confront the memories she has suppressed until now and relive the summer she spent at the villa in 1992. A summer that ended in tragedy. The nearer she gets to the truth the closer she comes to losing her sanity.

In order to hold onto the people she loves most, she must make sure they never discover what she did. But the reappearance of someone else from that summer threatens to blow her secret wide open.

My Thoughts:

I’ll be keeping things short and sweet as I don’t want to elaborate on the plot because this is one of those books that I think will be better enjoyed if you go into it only know what’s written above. Although, I will say, this book does contain flashbacks, so alongside the present day, we see the events that took place in 1992 – these flashbacks were my favourite part of the book, the most disturbing, and featured the only character I really liked – 13-year-old Abby. So, if you’re a fan of unlikeable characters, this book has a few!

Many of you may read this and like [adult] Abby but I found some of her actions to be just plain annoying, the same goes for her husband, he did a few things that highly irritated me. This leads to my only really issue with the book – I’d be so engrossed in the plot, eager to see how things would play out and then the plot would suddenly become a bit far-fetched and it threw me out of my reading grove. There weren’t any majorly shocking moments so it was the realism that was appealing to me in this one and sometimes things felt a little forced and this left me wanting more from the plot. But I was always pulled back in when things calmed down and I liked the ‘final showdown.’

Johnson has a nice writing style so even though I may have rolled my eyes several times at what I deemed the unbelievable in an otherwise believable story, I did overall enjoy this one. I’m quite liking not liking characters, it makes their demise all the more fun to read about! I’d recommend The Silence as a holiday read, or when you’re having a lazy day and want a nice crime fiction book with a dose of secrets and murder.

This book is available to buy from: Amazon UK / Book Depository

*My thanks to Emma Mitchell PR for providing me with a digital copy of this book and inviting me to take part in the blog tour*

***

FOLLOW THE SILENCE BLOG TOUR

The Silence Banner.jpg

Author: Keeper of Pages

Blogging about books and other bookish ramblings

8 thoughts on “Blog Tour | Review: The Silence by Katharine Johnson”

Leave a Reply

