Blog Tour | Book Review: One To Watch by Rachel Amphlett (Detective Kay Hunter #3)

One To Watch by Rachel Amphlett

Detective Kay Hunter is back in One To Watch, the third installment in this crime series by Rachel Amphlett. I’m delighted to be sharing my review as part of the blog tour for a book that needs to be on everyone’s radar!

Book Description:

Sophie Whittaker shared a terrifying secret. Hours later, she was dead.

Detective Kay Hunter and her colleagues are shocked by the vicious murder of a teenage girl at a private party in the Kentish countryside.

A tangled web of dark secrets is exposed as twisted motives point to a history of greed and corruption within the tight-knit community.

Confronted by a growing number of suspects and her own enemies who are waging a vendetta against her, Kay makes a shocking discovery that will make her question her trust in everyone she knows.

One to Watch is a gripping murder mystery thriller, and the third in the Detective Kay Hunter series.

My Thoughts:

One thing I know for certain about previous books I have read featuring Detective Kay Hunter is, they are fast-paced and exciting! While One To Watch is both of those things, it’s also so much more, thus making it my favourite of the series so far! This series is marketed as a crime thriller series, and rightly so, but in One To Watch, Amphlett shows just how strong her mystery writing skills are. In this case, Kay is not hunting a serial killer but instead person(s) responsible for a single murder, Sophie Whittakers murder. As the mystery unravels there’s so many potential suspects, Amphlett keeps us guessing till the end – I guess it’s true what they say: with money comes murder!

This is the third installment in the Detective Kay Hunter series, so for maximum enjoyment, I recommend starting at book one. Books one and two are excellent, and you’ll grow fonder of Kay with each book you read and there is a wonderful subplot running throughout all three books. It focuses on someone who has a vendetta against Kay and is going out of their way to jeopardise her career; in One To Watch, this subplot reach a whole new level of suspense and the threat to Kay and her family is heightening – I cannot wait to dig further into this mystery in the next book.

One To Watch keeps the fast-pace this series is known for, making it a perfect choice for a one-sitting read; this really is a series you can binge read. I think one thing that makes this book [and series] stand out is the characters; Amphlett has created such likeable characters and you delight in seeing them return again in each novel. As for Kay Hunter, she’s now in joint first place as my favourite fictional female detective. And as always, I have to give a mention to her partner, Adam, I thoroughly enjoy reading their interactions and I love how supportive he is of her and her career – they easily win the most likeable fictional couple award!

I highly recommend One To Watch, it’s the perfect book for fans of crime fiction, whether you favour police procedurals, thrillers or mysteries, this one encapsulates them all; full of red herrings, it really is a ‘whodunit’ mystery that can be enjoyed by all.

In case you’re wondering who Kay Hunter is in joint first place with as my favourite fictional female detective, it’s Erika Foster from the crime series by Robert Bryndza.

This book is available to buy from: Amazon UK

*My thanks to Emma Mitchell PR for providing me with a digital copy of this book and inviting me to take part in the blog tour*

***

THE DETECTIVE KAY HUNTER SERIES IN ORDER:

Scared To Death

Will To Live

One To Watch

Hell To Pay (Out in 2017)

***

FOLLOW THE ONE TO WATCH BLOG TOUR

One to Watch banner.jpg

Author: Keeper of Pages

Blogging about books and other bookish ramblings

11 thoughts on “Blog Tour | Book Review: One To Watch by Rachel Amphlett (Detective Kay Hunter #3)”

  1. Kay is definitely my favorite female character in crime series, but I haven’t met Erica yet :p Fab review! You said it all, this one has everything that made the other books awesome, and something more, that makes it THE book! 🙂 I love that subplot but it’s killing me not to know!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I rarely read crime books, but I might have to branch out this summer. I’ll definitely be checking this book out further. Thanks for introducing it to me!

    I’m new to blogging and book reviewing, and I was wondering if you had any tips for newbie bloggers and book reviewers.

    If you have the time, please check out my blog @breenysbooks. I’d love any feedback. Have a wonderful day.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I just checked out your blog, it’s gorgeous! I started my blog in August last year so I’m still kind of new haha. I’d say the best piece of advice (which you’re already doing) is to interact with other blogs. Also just be true to yourself, don’t put yourself in competition with other blogs or obsess over your stats. Most importantly just have fun with it.

      And yes, you should definitely branch out into crime fiction – if you like the sound of this one then I highly recommend starting with book one – Scared to Death – I loved it, 4.5 out of 5 stars!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

