Book Review: Ice Cold Alice by C. P. Wilson

Ice Cold Alice - CP Wilson

I’ve had this book sitting on my kindle for ages and I’m kicking myself for waiting so long to read it! It was such an enjoyable read, and I love the cover!

Book Description:

Ice Cold Alice: A killer who is as cold as Ice 

They thought that they had all the power, until she took it from them. 

A killer hunts abusive spouses, blogging about their sins post-kill. Soon the murders and the brazen journaling draws the attention of Police Scotland’s CID.

This killer works with surgical preparation, precision and skill, using a unique weapon of her own and never leaves a trace of evidence behind.

Edinburgh’s DI Kathy McGuire, nearing the end of her career, begins the hunt for the murderer as a media frenzy erupts. But McGuire might have met her match…

What has led this killer to take the law into her own hands?

Is the woman accountable really a cold-hearted killer or a desperate vigilante?

My Thoughts:

Let me say it for the thousandth time – I love when a book opens with a murder! Alice may just be the coolest serial killer I know, dishing out her own means of justice for those she believes deserve it, using a genius weapon and blogging and tweeting about it as she goes along. It’s not often you read a book and hope that the killer walks free, damn these likeable serial killers!

Ice Cold Alice is narrated in a NOW and THEN structure. This works really well to give you an insight into how and why Alice aka Tequila Mockingbird came to be the bad-ass serial killer she is; you also get to see the history of Kathy McGuire, the detective working the case – a game of cat and mouse between the two women! While I enjoyed all of this book, the chapters focusing on Alice [past and present] were my favourite, her precision planning and the execution of her kills made for exciting reading. I loved the incorporation of Alice’s blog posts, detailing her kills, shamelessly I admit, I would follow the blog of a serial killer. Hmm, I’m aware I seem to be obsessively singing the praises of a serial killer, but who doesn’t love a vigilante killer!?

I’m delighted to see it’s the first book in a series as I’m looking forward to seeing where this story goes, as the ending leaves so many possibilities for what could occur in the next book. I have an idea for what I think would be an amazing theme for book two but I don’t want to run the risk of spoiling the ending of this one, so I’ll say nothing [and be sure to let you know once I’ve read book two if I was correct]. Fast-paced, fun and exciting, I highly recommend Ice Cold Alice.

This book is available to buy from: Amazon UK / Book Depository

*My thanks to the author for providing me with a digital copy of this book*
Author: Keeper of Pages

Blogging about books and other bookish ramblings

6 thoughts on “Book Review: Ice Cold Alice by C. P. Wilson”

    1. It really is, definitely worth a read. When a book opens with a murder, the author has grabbed your full attention from the very beginning, almost forcing you to become invested in the plot because you have to know more – I love it!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

