Book Review: The Walls by Hollie Overton

The Walls Hollie Overton

Happy publication day to Hollie Overton, The Walls is her second novel.

Book Description:

WOULD YOU KILL TO PROTECT YOUR FAMILY?
Working on death row is far from Kristy Tucker’s dream, but she is grateful for a job that allows her to support her son and ailing father.

When she meets Lance Dobson, Kristy begins to imagine a different kind of future. But after their wedding, she finds herself serving her own life sentence—one of abuse and constant terror.
But Kristy is a survivor, and as Lance’s violence escalates, the inmates she’s worked with have planted an idea she simply can’t shake.

Now she must decide whether she’ll risk everything to protect her family. Does she have what it takes to commit the perfect crime?

My Thoughts:

Like any die-hard crime fiction fan, the blurb had me at “working on death row”, I didn’t even read the rest of the blurb before starting this book – I went into this book blind. I loved the start of this novel, as I hadn’t read the whole blurb, this book shocked me immediately as out of the blue, the plot changed pace and it changed everything I thought I knew about what would happen in the novel. Now having read the blurb, it shouldn’t have come as a surprise so I accept that many may not become as instantly gripped to this plot as I did.

Because I enjoyed reading this novel without first reading the synopsis, I won’t talk in too much detail about the plot. The Walls has a good mix of likeable and unlikeable characters – and not all the unlikeable characters are behind bars, and I’m not just talking about Lance! I really liked Kristy [even though I was calling her Kirsty for like two thirds of the novel *sorry*], and I was desperate to know if she would kill to protect her family.

As likeable as Kristy was, easily my favourite character was Clifton – a child killer on death row, convicted of murdering his own children – I can read, I know how that sounds but judge me not, I think [and really hope for my own judge of character’s sake] that he’s innocent! When you read about his interactions with Kristy and the letters he writes to her, that are interspersed throughout the novel, I hope you’ll see why he was my favourite character and why I desperately need to believe in his innocence.

One of the things I like about this novel, is Overton writes stories that keep going where most would end. Babydoll began were most abduction thrillers would end and it was brilliant; while, The Walls didn’t start at the end so to speak, it does allow you to see the fallout from the choices that are made.

Overall, I really enjoyed this book and I have no reservations recommending it.

This book is available to buy from: Amazon UK / Book Depository

*My thanks to the publisher (Hachette Book Group/Redhook) for granting me access to a digital copy of this book via Netgalley*
Author: Keeper of Pages

Blogging about books and other bookish ramblings

10 thoughts on “Book Review: The Walls by Hollie Overton”

  1. I read it as Kirsty until I got to that line of your review! 😀
    I quite like the idea behind this, but I’ve seen mixed reviews and so pushed it down the wishlist… Might bump it backup again now 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

