Blog Blitz | Book Review: Pretty Ugly Lies by Pamela Crane

Pamela Crane - Pretty Ugly Lies_cover_3

Welcome to my stop on the blog blitz for Pretty Ugly Lies by Pamela Crane. If you’re a fan of domestic noir, you’ll want to be reading this novel!

bookdescription

What causes a woman to murder her whole family?

Jo’s idyllic life would make most people jealous. Until one day her daughter is abducted and the only way to find her is to unravel her dark past.

Ellie is a devoted wife… until she discovers the pain of betrayal. Now vengeance is all she can think about.

Party-girl Shayla knows how to hide her demons. But when she’s confronted with a life-shattering choice, it will cost her everything.

June knows suffering intimately, though the smile she wears keeps it hidden.

Soon the lives of these four women intersect and one of them is about to snap…

From USA TODAY best-selling author Pamela Crane comes “a thought-provoking domestic noir novel perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty and B.A. Paris … A chilling look at the secrets mothers will hide for the sake of their families, and the gruesome reality of what can break an everyday woman.” Continue reading “Blog Blitz | Book Review: Pretty Ugly Lies by Pamela Crane”

Advertisements

Blog Tour | Book Review: Dortmund Hibernate by C. J. Sutton (@rararesources)

Dortmund Hibernate - CJ Sutton

Welcome to my stop on the Dortmund Hibernate blog tour, I’m delighted to be sharing my review as part of the tour. And it just so happens to be ebook publication day, so there’s no wait to get your hands on a copy of this dark psychological thriller.

bookdescription

Psychologist Dr Magnus Paul is tasked with the patients of Dortmund Asylum – nine criminally insane souls hidden from the world due to the extremity of their acts.

Magnus has six weeks to prove them sane for transfer to a maximum-security prison, or label them as incurable and recommend a death sentence under a new government act.

As Magnus delves into the darkness of the incarcerated minds, his own sanity is challenged. Secrets squeeze through the cracks of the asylum, blurring the line between reality and nightmare, urging Magnus towards a new life of crime…

The rural western town of Dortmund and its inhabitants are the backdrop to the mayhem on the hill.

It’s Silence of the Lambs meets Shutter Island in this tale of loss, fear and diminishing hope. Continue reading “Blog Tour | Book Review: Dortmund Hibernate by C. J. Sutton (@rararesources)”

Book Review: Beware the Past by Joy Ellis

Beware the Past - Joy Ellis

Beware the Past was June’s Criminally Good Book Club selection. A standalone novel from an author I haven’t read before.

 bookdescription

ONE TERRIBLE CASE ALWAYS HAUNTED DETECTIVE MATT BALLARD. NOW MANY YEARS LATER, THE KILLER SEEMS TO BE BACK. AND THIS TIME HE’S AFTER MATT.

When Matt Ballard was starting out his career, three boys were murdered in the same area, the remote and bleak Gibbet Fen. When the main suspect was killed in a hit-and-run, the killings stopped. But Matt was not satisfied that the real murderer had been caught.

Over 25 years later, Matt gets a photo in an unmarked envelope. It’s of the Gibbet Fen crime scene. And the picture was taken before the murder took place.

More photos arrive, relating to the historic murders, as well as intimate pictures of Matt’s very secret private life.

A KILLER WHO WILL STOP AT NOTHING TO DESTROY A DETECTIVE.

Then another murder happens with some of the hallmarks of the old case. Has the killer returned or is this just a sick copycat determined to ruin Matt’s life and reputation? Everyone around Matt is in danger as the killer plays mind games with the detective.

In an absolutely breathtaking conclusion, Matt and his team race against time to stop a vicious killer who knows no limits. Continue reading “Book Review: Beware the Past by Joy Ellis”

Blog Tour | Book Review: A Patient Fury by Sarah Ward (DC Childs #3) #damppebblesblogtours

A Patient Fury PB.jpg

It’s my absolutely pleasure to be the closing stop on the blog tour for A Patient Fury by Sarah Ward, book 3 in the DC Connie Childs series.

bookdescription

Three bodies discovered.

A family obliterated.

All evidence seems to point to one murderer: the mother.

DC Connie Childs, determined to discover the truth about the fire-wrecked property on Cross Farm Lane, realises that a fourth body – one they cannot find – must hold the key to the mystery. But what Connie fails to realise is that her determination to unmask the murderer might cost her more than her health – this time she could lose the thing she cares about most: her career. Continue reading “Blog Tour | Book Review: A Patient Fury by Sarah Ward (DC Childs #3) #damppebblesblogtours”

Blog Tour | Book Review: Gone to Ground by Rachel Amphlett (Detective #KayHunter6)

Gone to Ground - Rachel Amphlett

It’s my absolute pleasure to be a part of the Gone to Ground blog tour, sharing my review of the latest instalment in the Kay Hunter series with you today.

bookdescription

While attending a crime scene on the outskirts of Maidstone, DI Kay Hunter makes a shocking discovery.

The victim has been brutally cut to pieces, his identity unknown.

When more body parts start turning up in the Kentish countryside, Kay realises the disturbing truth – a serial killer is at large and must be stopped at all costs.

With no motive for the murders and a killer who has gone undetected until now, Kay and her team of detectives must work fast to calm a terrified local population.

When a third victim is found, her investigation grows even more complicated.

As she begins to expose a dark underbelly to the county town, Kay and her team are pulled into a web of jealousy and intrigue that, if left unchecked, will soon claim another life. Continue reading “Blog Tour | Book Review: Gone to Ground by Rachel Amphlett (Detective #KayHunter6)”