Blog Blitz | Book Review: Pretty Ugly Lies by Pamela Crane

Pamela Crane - Pretty Ugly Lies_cover_3

Welcome to my stop on the blog blitz for Pretty Ugly Lies by Pamela Crane. If you’re a fan of domestic noir, you’ll want to be reading this novel!

bookdescription

What causes a woman to murder her whole family?

Jo’s idyllic life would make most people jealous. Until one day her daughter is abducted and the only way to find her is to unravel her dark past.

Ellie is a devoted wife… until she discovers the pain of betrayal. Now vengeance is all she can think about.

Party-girl Shayla knows how to hide her demons. But when she’s confronted with a life-shattering choice, it will cost her everything.

June knows suffering intimately, though the smile she wears keeps it hidden.

Soon the lives of these four women intersect and one of them is about to snap…

From USA TODAY best-selling author Pamela Crane comes “a thought-provoking domestic noir novel perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty and B.A. Paris … A chilling look at the secrets mothers will hide for the sake of their families, and the gruesome reality of what can break an everyday woman.” Continue reading “Blog Blitz | Book Review: Pretty Ugly Lies by Pamela Crane”

Advertisements

Blog Tour | Book Review: A Patient Fury by Sarah Ward (DC Childs #3) #damppebblesblogtours

A Patient Fury PB.jpg

It’s my absolutely pleasure to be the closing stop on the blog tour for A Patient Fury by Sarah Ward, book 3 in the DC Connie Childs series.

bookdescription

Three bodies discovered.

A family obliterated.

All evidence seems to point to one murderer: the mother.

DC Connie Childs, determined to discover the truth about the fire-wrecked property on Cross Farm Lane, realises that a fourth body – one they cannot find – must hold the key to the mystery. But what Connie fails to realise is that her determination to unmask the murderer might cost her more than her health – this time she could lose the thing she cares about most: her career. Continue reading “Blog Tour | Book Review: A Patient Fury by Sarah Ward (DC Childs #3) #damppebblesblogtours”

Blog Tour | Book Review: The Woolgrower’s Companion by Joy Rhoades #WoolgrowersCompanion

Woolgrowers Companion

I’m delighted to be a part of the blog tour for The Woolgrower’s Companion, and sharing my review with you today. This title publishes in paperback tomorrow and needs to be a part of your summer reading list.

bookdescription

Australia 1945. Until now Kate Dowd has led a sheltered life on her family’s sprawling sheep station but, with her father’s health in decline, the management of the farm is increasingly falling to her.

Kate is rising to the challenge when the arrival of two Italian POW labourers disrupts everything – especially when Kate finds herself drawn to the enigmatic Luca Canali.

Then she receives devastating news. The farm is near bankrupt and the bank is set to repossess. Given just eight weeks to pay the debt, Kate is now in a race to save everything she holds dear. Continue reading “Blog Tour | Book Review: The Woolgrower’s Companion by Joy Rhoades #WoolgrowersCompanion”

Book Review: Us Against You by Fredrik Backman (Beartown #2)

Us Against You - Fredrik Backman

Us Against You was my most anticipated read of the year, it is the sequel to Beartown (also published as The Scandal).

bookdescription

Can a broken town survive a second tragedy? The follow-up to the international bestseller Beartown.

Beartown is dying . . .

Tucked in a forest in the frozen north, Beartown’s residents are tough and hardworking. They don’t expect life to be easy, but they do expect it to be fair.

Which is why the sudden loss of their hockey players to the rival town of Hed hurts. Everyone needs something to cheer for in the long winter nights. Now they have nothing.

So when a new star player arrives, Coach Peter sees an opportunity to rebuild the team – to take on Hed and restore Beartown’s fortunes. But not everyone in town sees it his way.

As the big game between both towns approaches, the rivalry turns bitter and all too real. Once the stands rumbled with threats to ‘kill’ and ‘ruin’ each other, but the residents didn’t mean it. Now they do.

By the time the last goal is scored, someone in Beartown will be dead . . .

Us Against You is the story of two towns, two teams and what it means to believe in something bigger than yourself. It’s about how people come together – sometimes in anger, often in sorrow, but also through love. And how, when we stand together, we can bring a town back to life. Continue reading “Book Review: Us Against You by Fredrik Backman (Beartown #2)”

Book Review: The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah

The Nightingale - Kristin Hannah

This is the third book I have buddy read with Beth @ Bibliobeth, she’s my reading good luck charm because each of the three books we have read together, I have awarded the highest praise, aka five stars. This month we chose to read The Nightingale, and I’m sure Beth will agree, this is a book that stays with you long after you have turned the last page!

bookdescription

Bravery, courage, fear and love in a time of war. 

Despite their differences, sisters Vianne and Isabelle have always been close. Younger, bolder Isabelle lives in Paris while Vianne is content with life in the French countryside with her husband Antoine and their daughter. But when the Second World War strikes, Antoine is sent off to fight and Vianne finds herself isolated so Isabelle is sent by their father to help her.

As the war progresses, the sisters’ relationship and strength is tested. With life changing in unbelievably horrific ways, Vianne and Isabelle will find themselves facing frightening situations and responding in ways they never thought possible as bravery and resistance take different forms in each of their actions. Continue reading “Book Review: The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah”