Ramblings from my pages… #8

Welcome to the eighth instalment of Ramblings from my pages… This post was inspired by It’s Book Talk’s “5 on Friday: Things I’m Loving Lately” – it differs slightly, similar in that it will feature bookish and non-bookish topics, but different in that I will ramble about things I’m loving, hating, wishing for, links I’ve enjoyed, life updates – you name it, I may just ramble about it. The only staple feature of this post will be concluding it with a link I found around the web.

Today’s ramblings topics: Update: life, reading, blogging, Books That Matter, The Girl Who Lived Twice, HQ Crime Fiction Showcase. Whether you read the entire post or jump to the section(s) you’re interested in, I hope you enjoy my ramblings. Note: if it’s green, it’s a link, click it! Continue reading “Ramblings from my pages… #8”

Advertisements

Blog Tour | Book Review: Lies Between Us by Ronnie Turner #LiesBetweenUs #WhereIsBonnie?

Lies Between Us - Ronnie Turner

Welcome to my stop on the blog tour for Ronnie Turner’s debut novel, Lies Between Us, and what an impressive debut it is! I’m delighted to be sharing my review with you today.

bookdescription

Will they ever learn the truth?

Three people, leading very different lives, are about to be brought together – with devastating consequences . . .

John has a perfect life, until the day his daughter goes missing.

Maisie cares for her patients, but hides her own traumatic past.

Miller should be an innocent child, but is obsessed with something he can’t have.

They all have something in common, though none of them know it – and the truth won’t stay hidden for long . . . Continue reading “Blog Tour | Book Review: Lies Between Us by Ronnie Turner #LiesBetweenUs #WhereIsBonnie?”

Blog Tour | Book Review: Keep Your Friends Close by June Taylor #KeepYourFriendsClose #damppebblesblogtours

Keep Your Friends Close by June Taylor

Welcome to my stop on the Keep Your Friends Close blog tour, and happy eBook publication day to June Taylor! This exciting psychological thriller is available to buy now in eBook now, the paperback is available to pre-order.

bookdescription

Keep your friends close and your enemies closer…

An addictive and shocking psychological thriller, full of twists you won’t see coming, perfect for fans of FRIEND REQUEST by Laura Marshall.

A friend who won’t let you escape.
When Karin is taken on a romantic break by her loving partner Aaron, she can’t wait for him to propose. But her surprise weekend quickly becomes a nightmare from which she may never escape.

Who wants everything you have.
They are staying by the beach at the Midland – a grand hotel where Karin used to work. And where Karin’s dangerous and obsessive ex, whom she has been trying to leave behind for years, is waiting patiently for her to return.

Who won’t stop until your life is in ruins.
Now all of Karin’s darkest secrets are being dragged into the light and her friends are turning against her. When one of them is murdered, Karin begins to realise just how treacherous relationships can be… Continue reading “Blog Tour | Book Review: Keep Your Friends Close by June Taylor #KeepYourFriendsClose #damppebblesblogtours”

Audiobook Review: The Good Daughter by Karin Slaughter (Narrated by Susie James)

The Good Daughter - Karin Slaughter Audio

After loving Slaughter’s previous standalone novel, Pretty Girls, I was so excited to read The Good Daughter, and I bloody loved it, from beginning to end!

bookdescription

The stunning new standalone, with a chilling edge of psychological suspense, from No.1 bestselling author Karin Slaughter.

One ran. One stayed. But who is…the good daughter?

Twenty-eight years ago, Charlotte and Samantha Quinn’s childhoods were destroyed by a terrifying attack on their family home. It left their mother dead. It left their father – a notorious defence attorney – devastated. And it left the family consumed by secrets from that shocking night.

Twenty-eight years later, Charlie has followed in her father’s footsteps to become a lawyer. But when violence comes to their home town again, the case triggers memories she’s desperately tried to suppress. Because the shocking truth about the crime which destroyed her family won’t stay buried for ever… Continue reading “Audiobook Review: The Good Daughter by Karin Slaughter (Narrated by Susie James)”

Blog Tour | Book Review: Trap by Lilja Sigurðardóttir (translated by Quentin Bates) #ReykjavikNoir

TRAP AW.indd

Welcome to my stop on the blog tour for Trap, the second book in the Reykjavik Noir series, and the sequel to Snare. I’m delighted to be sharing my review with you today.

bookdescription

Happily settled in Florida, Sonja believes she’s finally escaped the trap set by unscrupulous drug lords. But when her son Tomas is taken, she’s back to square one… and Iceland.

Her lover, Agla, is awaiting sentencing for financial misconduct after the banking crash, and Sonja refuses to see her. And that’s not all… Agla owes money to some extremely powerful men, and they’ll stop at nothing to get it back.

With her former nemesis, customs officer Bragi, on her side, Sonja puts her own plan into motion, to bring down the drug barons and her scheming ex-husband, and get Tomas back safely. But things aren’t as straightforward as they seem, and Sonja finds herself caught in the centre of a trap that will put all of their lives at risk…

Set in a Reykjavík still covered in the dust of the Eyjafjallajökull volcanic eruption, and with a dark, fast-paced and chilling plot and intriguing characters, Trap is an outstandingly original and sexy Nordic crime thriller, from one of the most exciting new names in crime fiction. Continue reading “Blog Tour | Book Review: Trap by Lilja Sigurðardóttir (translated by Quentin Bates) #ReykjavikNoir”