Book Review: NOS-4R2 by Joe Hill

NOS 4R2 - Joe Hill

If you’re looking for a festive book to read this season, look no further than NOS-4R2 by Joe Hill – because horror does Christmas too!

“What would you do for a lifetime pass to a place where every morning is Christmas morning?”

Book Description:

Summer. Massachusetts.

An old Silver Wraith with a frightening history. A story about one serial killer and his lingering, unfinished business.

Anyone could be next.

We’re going to Christmasland…

NOS4R2 is an old-fashioned horror novel in the best sense. Claustrophobic, gripping and terrifying, this is a story that will have you on the edge of the seat while you read, and leaving the lights on while you sleep. With the horrific tale of Charles Manx and his Silver Wraith, Joe Hill has established himself as the premiere horror and supernatural thriller writer of his generation. Continue reading “Book Review: NOS-4R2 by Joe Hill”

Advertisements

Blog Tour | Urbane’s 12 Days of Christmas: The Gift Maker by Mark Mayes *Author Q&A & #Giveaway* @urbanebooks

Welcome to my stop on the 12 Days of Christmas Blog Tour, hosted by Urbane Publications. I’m delighted to bring you a Q&A with Mark Mayes, author of The Gift Maker, and a chance to win a copy of his novel.

But first, a bit about Mark:

Mark Mayes author pic
Author photo is courtesy of Tina White

Before becoming a writer, Mark trained as an actor at the Royal Academy of Dramatic Art. He subsequently worked in theatre and television for several years, both in the UK and abroad. He has worked variously as a cleaner, care-worker and carer, salesman, barman, medical transcriptionist, warehouse worker, and administrator.

Mark has published numerous stories and poems in magazines and anthologies in the UK, Eire, and Italy, and in particular has had several stories published in (or accepted for) the celebrated Unthology series (Unthank Books). His work has been broadcast on BBC Radio 4 and the BBC World Service. He has been shortlisted for literary prizes, including the prestigious Bridport Prize.

In 2009, Mark graduated with a First Class Honours Degree in English (Creative Writing and Critical Practice) from Ruskin College, Oxford.

Currently living in South Wales, Mark is also a musician and songwriter, and some of his songs may be found here: https://soundcloud.com/pumpstreetsongs

Among his favourite writers are: Jean Rhys, Franz Kafka, Anton Chekhov, and Christopher Priest.

Q&A with Mark Mayes:

  • For the readers, can you talk us through your background and the synopsis of your new novel?

Continue reading “Blog Tour | Urbane’s 12 Days of Christmas: The Gift Maker by Mark Mayes *Author Q&A & #Giveaway* @urbanebooks”

Book Review: Anatomy of a Scandal by Sarah Vaughan

Anatomy of a Scandal - Sarah Vaughan

I was drawn to Anatomy of a Scandal because the synopsis reminded me a little bit of the hit TV series Scandal, featuring Kerry Washington – successful public figures caught up in a scandal.

Book Description:

You want to believe your husband. She wants to destroy him.

Gripping psychological drama for fans of Apple Tree Yard, The Good Wife and Notes on a Scandal.

Part courtroom thriller; part portrait of a marriage; part exploration of how our memories still haunt us, Anatomy of a Scandal is a disarming and provocative psychological drama.

Sophie’s husband, James, is a loving father and a successful public figure. Yet he stands accused of a terrible crime. Sophie is convinced he is innocent and desperate to protect her precious family from the lies that threaten to engulf him. She’s kept his darkest secret ever since they were first lovers, at Oxford. And if she stood by him then, she can do it now.

Kate is the barrister prosecuting his case. She’s certain that James is guilty and determined he should pay. No stranger to suffering herself, she doesn’t flinch from posing the questions few want to hear. About what happens between a man a woman when they’re alone: alone in bed, alone in an embrace, alone in a lift . . .

Is James the victim of an unfortunate misunderstanding or the perpetrator of something sinister? Who is right: Sophie or Kate? This scandal – which forces Sophie to appraise her marriage and Kate her demons – will have far-reaching consequences for them all. Continue reading “Book Review: Anatomy of a Scandal by Sarah Vaughan”

Book Review: The Chalk Man by C.J. Tudor

The Chalk Man - C.J. Tudor

*Thanks for the free book @CrownPublishing; it’s my pleasure to be a part of your monthly book send progamme and provide honest reviews for the titles chosen*

According to the early reviews for The Chalk Man, it is the must-read book of 2018! Of course, I had to find out for myself…

Book Description:

In 1986, Eddie and his friends are just kids on the verge of adolescence. They spend their days biking around their sleepy little English village and looking for any taste of excitement they can get. The chalk men are their secret code; little chalk stick figures they leave for one another as messages only they can understand. But then a mysterious chalk man leads them right to a dismembered body, and nothing is ever the same.

In 2016, Eddie is fully grown, and thinks he’s put his past behind him. But then he gets a letter in the mail, containing a single chalk stick figure. When it turns out that his friends got the same message, they think it could be a prank . . . until one of them turns up dead. That’s when Eddie realizes that saving himself means finally figuring out what really happened all those years ago. Continue reading “Book Review: The Chalk Man by C.J. Tudor”

Looking Ahead – This Month’s TBR List (December 2017)

Looking Ahead Banner

Before we get to today’s post, I just want to let you all know about my Twitter hiatus – I’m currently in “Twitter Jail.” Basically, Twitter thinks my account is a spam account due to the number of posts I’ve shared featuring links, so to combat this problem – I won’t be sharing any posts to Twitter for a while, until my account is back to normal.

Now that all my reviews for books read in November have been published, I’m linking up with Tina @ Reading Between the Pages to Look Ahead at the books I hope to read in December. This is a new monthly meme showcasing your monthly TBR and if you head over to Tina’s blog, you can submit your blog post link and see what others are reading and discover new blogs/books.

Already Read…

Reviews for The Foster Child by Jenny Blackhurst, The Chalk Man by C.J. Tudor and Anatomy of a Scandal by Sarah Vaughan will be up on the blog this week.

Currently Reading…

Continue reading “Looking Ahead – This Month’s TBR List (December 2017)”