Blog Tour | Spotlight & #Giveaway: Some They Lie by @MarissaFarrar  #damppebblesblogtours

some they lie

Welcome to my stop on the Some They Lie blog tour. To celebrate the publication of the book, each blog on this tour has the chance for you to win a £5 Amazon gift voucher, courtesy of the author. So let’s find out a bit about the book and the author, and then it’s giveaway time!

bookdescription

Everybody hides the monster inside…

When Olivia Midhurst meets Michael, she doesn’t fool herself that he’s the perfect guy. No one is perfect—she knows that better than most. Everyone has their secrets, their skeletons in the closet.

But something about Michael’s behaviour sets alarm bells ringing, and, when people around her start to go missing, and then turn up dead, she’s forced to act.

Knowing the police will never believe what she’s witnessed, and terrified her accusations will only drag up the past she’s worked so hard to bury, Olivia has no choice but to take things into her own hands… Continue reading “Blog Tour | Spotlight & #Giveaway: Some They Lie by @MarissaFarrar  #damppebblesblogtours”

Advertisements

#24in48 Readathon, 2018

24in48

The 24in48 readathon is back this weekend (21st-22nd July), and I’m so ready for it! The aim is simple – read for 24 of the 48 hours or as the website states:

“If you’re new to 24in48, this is the basic gist: beginning at 12:01am on Saturday morning and running through 11:59pm on Sunday night, participants read for 24 hours out of that 48-hour period. You can split that up however you’d like: 20 hours on Saturday, four hours on Sunday; 12 hours each day; six four-hour sessions with four hour breaks in between, whatever you’d like.”

I participated last year, and managed to read for a full 24 hours (and 4 minutes, to be exact), so I’m hoping for a repeat of that. I also plan to learn from last years mistakes, and do the majority of my reading at the start of the ‘thon, rather than at the end. Towards the end of the last ‘thon, I was so tired, I’m pretty sure I became the slowest reader known to mankind, so this year I’m prepared with an audiobook on standby, just in case.

The hosts of the readathon are in the US, however, for the sake of my sanity (and work on Monday) I’m sticking to UK clock, so I’ll be starting and ending my readathon earlier than those stateside.

24in48 TBR: Continue reading “#24in48 Readathon, 2018”

Blog Blitz | Book Review: Pretty Ugly Lies by Pamela Crane

Pamela Crane - Pretty Ugly Lies_cover_3

Welcome to my stop on the blog blitz for Pretty Ugly Lies by Pamela Crane. If you’re a fan of domestic noir, you’ll want to be reading this novel!

bookdescription

What causes a woman to murder her whole family?

Jo’s idyllic life would make most people jealous. Until one day her daughter is abducted and the only way to find her is to unravel her dark past.

Ellie is a devoted wife… until she discovers the pain of betrayal. Now vengeance is all she can think about.

Party-girl Shayla knows how to hide her demons. But when she’s confronted with a life-shattering choice, it will cost her everything.

June knows suffering intimately, though the smile she wears keeps it hidden.

Soon the lives of these four women intersect and one of them is about to snap…

From USA TODAY best-selling author Pamela Crane comes “a thought-provoking domestic noir novel perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty and B.A. Paris … A chilling look at the secrets mothers will hide for the sake of their families, and the gruesome reality of what can break an everyday woman.” Continue reading “Blog Blitz | Book Review: Pretty Ugly Lies by Pamela Crane”

Blog Tour | Book Review: Dortmund Hibernate by C. J. Sutton (@rararesources)

Dortmund Hibernate - CJ Sutton

Welcome to my stop on the Dortmund Hibernate blog tour, I’m delighted to be sharing my review as part of the tour. And it just so happens to be ebook publication day, so there’s no wait to get your hands on a copy of this dark psychological thriller.

bookdescription

Psychologist Dr Magnus Paul is tasked with the patients of Dortmund Asylum – nine criminally insane souls hidden from the world due to the extremity of their acts.

Magnus has six weeks to prove them sane for transfer to a maximum-security prison, or label them as incurable and recommend a death sentence under a new government act.

As Magnus delves into the darkness of the incarcerated minds, his own sanity is challenged. Secrets squeeze through the cracks of the asylum, blurring the line between reality and nightmare, urging Magnus towards a new life of crime…

The rural western town of Dortmund and its inhabitants are the backdrop to the mayhem on the hill.

It’s Silence of the Lambs meets Shutter Island in this tale of loss, fear and diminishing hope. Continue reading “Blog Tour | Book Review: Dortmund Hibernate by C. J. Sutton (@rararesources)”

Book Review: Beware the Past by Joy Ellis

Beware the Past - Joy Ellis

Beware the Past was June’s Criminally Good Book Club selection. A standalone novel from an author I haven’t read before.

 bookdescription

ONE TERRIBLE CASE ALWAYS HAUNTED DETECTIVE MATT BALLARD. NOW MANY YEARS LATER, THE KILLER SEEMS TO BE BACK. AND THIS TIME HE’S AFTER MATT.

When Matt Ballard was starting out his career, three boys were murdered in the same area, the remote and bleak Gibbet Fen. When the main suspect was killed in a hit-and-run, the killings stopped. But Matt was not satisfied that the real murderer had been caught.

Over 25 years later, Matt gets a photo in an unmarked envelope. It’s of the Gibbet Fen crime scene. And the picture was taken before the murder took place.

More photos arrive, relating to the historic murders, as well as intimate pictures of Matt’s very secret private life.

A KILLER WHO WILL STOP AT NOTHING TO DESTROY A DETECTIVE.

Then another murder happens with some of the hallmarks of the old case. Has the killer returned or is this just a sick copycat determined to ruin Matt’s life and reputation? Everyone around Matt is in danger as the killer plays mind games with the detective.

In an absolutely breathtaking conclusion, Matt and his team race against time to stop a vicious killer who knows no limits. Continue reading “Book Review: Beware the Past by Joy Ellis”