Book Review: Us Against You by Fredrik Backman (Beartown #2)

Us Against You - Fredrik Backman

Us Against You was my most anticipated read of the year, it is the sequel to Beartown (also published as The Scandal).

bookdescription

Can a broken town survive a second tragedy? The follow-up to the international bestseller Beartown.

Beartown is dying . . .

Tucked in a forest in the frozen north, Beartown’s residents are tough and hardworking. They don’t expect life to be easy, but they do expect it to be fair.

Which is why the sudden loss of their hockey players to the rival town of Hed hurts. Everyone needs something to cheer for in the long winter nights. Now they have nothing.

So when a new star player arrives, Coach Peter sees an opportunity to rebuild the team – to take on Hed and restore Beartown’s fortunes. But not everyone in town sees it his way.

As the big game between both towns approaches, the rivalry turns bitter and all too real. Once the stands rumbled with threats to ‘kill’ and ‘ruin’ each other, but the residents didn’t mean it. Now they do.

By the time the last goal is scored, someone in Beartown will be dead . . .

Us Against You is the story of two towns, two teams and what it means to believe in something bigger than yourself. It’s about how people come together – sometimes in anger, often in sorrow, but also through love. And how, when we stand together, we can bring a town back to life. Continue reading “Book Review: Us Against You by Fredrik Backman (Beartown #2)”

Advertisements

Book Review: The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah

The Nightingale - Kristin Hannah

This is the third book I have buddy read with Beth @ Bibliobeth, she’s my reading good luck charm because each of the three books we have read together, I have awarded the highest praise, aka five stars. This month we chose to read The Nightingale, and I’m sure Beth will agree, this is a book that stays with you long after you have turned the last page!

bookdescription

Bravery, courage, fear and love in a time of war. 

Despite their differences, sisters Vianne and Isabelle have always been close. Younger, bolder Isabelle lives in Paris while Vianne is content with life in the French countryside with her husband Antoine and their daughter. But when the Second World War strikes, Antoine is sent off to fight and Vianne finds herself isolated so Isabelle is sent by their father to help her.

As the war progresses, the sisters’ relationship and strength is tested. With life changing in unbelievably horrific ways, Vianne and Isabelle will find themselves facing frightening situations and responding in ways they never thought possible as bravery and resistance take different forms in each of their actions. Continue reading “Book Review: The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah”

Book Review: The Craftsman by Sharon Bolton  

The Craftsman - Sharon Bolton

I couldn’t have picked a better book for my second buddy read with Eva @ Novel Deelights. We both loved this book, and it contained so many discussion worthy points. Oh, and let me not forget to mention – The Craftsman gets all the stars, brilliant, just brilliant!

bookdescription

Devoted father or merciless killer?

His secrets are buried with him.

Florence Lovelady’s career was made when she convicted coffin-maker Larry Glassbrook of a series of child murders 30 years ago. Like something from our worst nightmares the victims were buried…ALIVE.

Larry confessed to the crimes; it was an open and shut case. But now he’s dead, and events from the past start to repeat themselves.

Did she get it wrong all those years ago?
Or is there something much darker at play? Continue reading “Book Review: The Craftsman by Sharon Bolton  “

Book Review: Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine by Gail Honeyman

Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine - Gail Honeyman

What a wonderful, wonderful read. I can see why this book is so widely praised, simply wonderful! Another five star buddy read with Beth @ Bibliobeth.

bookdescription

Eleanor Oliphant has learned how to survive – but not how to live

Eleanor Oliphant leads a simple life. She wears the same clothes to work every day, eats the same meal deal for lunch every day and buys the same two bottles of vodka to drink every weekend.

Eleanor Oliphant is happy. Nothing is missing from her carefully timetabled life. Except, sometimes, everything.

One simple act of kindness is about to shatter the walls Eleanor has built around herself. Now she must learn how to navigate the world that everyone else seems to take for granted – while searching for the courage to face the dark corners she’s avoided all her life.

Change can be good. Change can be bad. But surely any change is better than… fine? Continue reading “Book Review: Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine by Gail Honeyman”

Book Review: The Broken Girls by Simone St. James

Broken Girls - Simone St. James

After seeing so many glowing reviews for The Broken Girls, my expectations for this one were sky high. After reading this book, I can tell you, my expectations were met!

bookdescription

1950 – At the crumbling Idlewild Hall school for unwanted girls, four room-mates begin to bond over dark secrets and whispered fears – until one of them mysteriously disappears . . .

2014 – Journalist Fiona Sheridan can’t get over the murder of her sister twenty years ago, near the ruins of Idlewild. And when another body is found during renovations of the school, she begins to uncover horrors that were meant to remain hidden – and a voice that won’t be silenced.

For fans of Lisa Jewell and S.K. Tremayne, The Broken Girls is a chilling story of murder, revenge, and secrets that refuse to stay buried . . . Continue reading “Book Review: The Broken Girls by Simone St. James”