Book Review: Anatomy of a Scandal by Sarah Vaughan

Anatomy of a Scandal - Sarah Vaughan

I was drawn to Anatomy of a Scandal because the synopsis reminded me a little bit of the hit TV series Scandal, featuring Kerry Washington – successful public figures caught up in a scandal.

Book Description:

You want to believe your husband. She wants to destroy him.

Gripping psychological drama for fans of Apple Tree Yard, The Good Wife and Notes on a Scandal.

Part courtroom thriller; part portrait of a marriage; part exploration of how our memories still haunt us, Anatomy of a Scandal is a disarming and provocative psychological drama.

Sophie’s husband, James, is a loving father and a successful public figure. Yet he stands accused of a terrible crime. Sophie is convinced he is innocent and desperate to protect her precious family from the lies that threaten to engulf him. She’s kept his darkest secret ever since they were first lovers, at Oxford. And if she stood by him then, she can do it now.

Kate is the barrister prosecuting his case. She’s certain that James is guilty and determined he should pay. No stranger to suffering herself, she doesn’t flinch from posing the questions few want to hear. About what happens between a man a woman when they’re alone: alone in bed, alone in an embrace, alone in a lift . . .

Is James the victim of an unfortunate misunderstanding or the perpetrator of something sinister? Who is right: Sophie or Kate? This scandal – which forces Sophie to appraise her marriage and Kate her demons – will have far-reaching consequences for them all. Continue reading “Book Review: Anatomy of a Scandal by Sarah Vaughan”

Advertisements

Book Review: Force of Nature by Jane Harper (Aaron Falk #2)

Force of Nature by Jane Harper

The natural order of things: read and love The Dry, then go on to read and love Force of Nature.

Book Description:

FIVE WENT OUT. FOUR CAME BACK…

Is Alice here? Did she make it? Is she safe? In the chaos, in the night, it was impossible to say which of the four had asked after Alice’s welfare. Later, when everything got worse, each would insist it had been them.

Five women reluctantly pick up their backpacks and start walking along the muddy track. Only four come out the other side.

The hike through the rugged landscape is meant to take the office colleagues out of their air-conditioned comfort zone and teach resilience and team building. At least that is what the corporate retreat website advertises.

Federal Police Agent Aaron Falk has a particularly keen interest in the whereabouts of the missing bushwalker. Alice Russell is the whistleblower in his latest case – and Alice knew secrets. About the company she worked for and the people she worked with.

Far from the hike encouraging teamwork, the women tell Falk a tale of suspicion, violence and disintegrating trust. And as he delves into the disappearance, it seems some dangers may run far deeper than anyone knew. Continue reading “Book Review: Force of Nature by Jane Harper (Aaron Falk #2)”

Book Review: Sing, Unburied, Sing by Jesmyn Ward

Sing Unburied Sing - Jesmyn Ward

Sing, Unburied, Sing appears to be taking the literary world by storm and immediately became a must read for me. And there’s something about the cover I find so appealing!

Book Description:

An intimate portrait of a family and an epic tale of hope and struggle, Sing, Unburied, Sing examines the ugly truths at the heart of the American story and the power – and limitations – of family bonds.

Jojo is thirteen years old and trying to understand what it means to be a man. His mother, Leonie, is in constant conflict with herself and those around her. She is black and her children’s father is white. Embattled in ways that reflect the brutal reality of her circumstances, she wants to be a better mother, but can’t put her children above her own needs, especially her drug use.

When the children’s father is released from prison, Leonie packs her kids and a friend into her car and drives north to the heart of Mississippi and Parchman Farm, the State Penitentiary. At Parchman, there is another boy, the ghost of a dead inmate who carries all of the ugly history of the South with him in his wandering. He too has something to teach Jojo about fathers and sons, about legacies, about violence, about love.

Rich with Ward’s distinctive, lyrical language, Sing, Unburied, Sing brings the archetypal road novel into rural twenty-first century America. It is a majestic new work from an extraordinary and singular author. Continue reading “Book Review: Sing, Unburied, Sing by Jesmyn Ward”

Blog Tour | Book Extract: Before This Is Over by Amanda Hickie @headlinepg @AmandaHickie

Before This Is Over - Amanda Hickie

Firstly, happy publication day to Amanda Hickie, Before This Is Over is out today! Secondly, welcome to my stop on the blog tour for this great new release; I’m honoured to be hosting the publication tour stop and I have something very exciting to share with you today – not just any book extract but the whole first chapter! I have read and reviewed Before This Is Over, so I can guarantee you’re in for a treat. Make yourself a cuppa, get comfortable and enjoy…

Book Description:

A normal family. A quiet, leafy street. A terrifying epidemic.

It’s been coming for a while: a lethal illness. With sons of five and fourteen to look out for, Hannah has been stockpiling supplies, despite everyone telling her that it’s unnecessary.

Then it arrives.

At first there are a few unconfirmed cases. Then a death. Now the whole city is quarantined. But Hannah’s family is not yet safe behind their locked front door…

Basics soon become luxuries, and neighbours become hazards. There are power cuts, food shortages and an ever-growing sense of claustrophobia. How will the family cope?

How would you cope?

How far would you go to protect your children?

Continue reading “Blog Tour | Book Extract: Before This Is Over by Amanda Hickie @headlinepg @AmandaHickie”

Blog Tour | Book Review: Anything You Do Say by Gillian McAllister

Anything You Do Say - Gillian McAllister

It’s dark, it’s late, in a split second you could make a decision that will alter the course of your life forever…

Welcome to my stop on the Anything You Do Say blog tour, after reading ‘Everything But The Truth’ by McAllister earlier this year, I jumped at the chance to be a part of this blog tour and share my review with you all today.

Book Description:

Gone Girl meets Sliding Doors in this edge-of-your-seat thriller.

Joanna is an avoider. So far she has spent her adult life hiding bank statements and changing career aspirations weekly. But then one night Joanna hears footsteps on the way home.

Is she being followed? She is sure it’s him; the man from the bar who wouldn’t leave her alone.

Hearing the steps speed up, Joanna turns and pushes with all of her might, sending her pursuer tumbling down the steps to lie motionless on the floor. Now Joanna has to make a decision: Fight or flight? Truth or lie? Right or wrong? Continue reading “Blog Tour | Book Review: Anything You Do Say by Gillian McAllister”