Book Review: The Broken Girls by Simone St. James

Broken Girls - Simone St. James

After seeing so many glowing reviews for The Broken Girls, my expectations for this one were sky high. After reading this book, I can tell you, my expectations were met!

bookdescription

1950 – At the crumbling Idlewild Hall school for unwanted girls, four room-mates begin to bond over dark secrets and whispered fears – until one of them mysteriously disappears . . .

2014 – Journalist Fiona Sheridan can’t get over the murder of her sister twenty years ago, near the ruins of Idlewild. And when another body is found during renovations of the school, she begins to uncover horrors that were meant to remain hidden – and a voice that won’t be silenced.

For fans of Lisa Jewell and S.K. Tremayne, The Broken Girls is a chilling story of murder, revenge, and secrets that refuse to stay buried . . . Continue reading “Book Review: The Broken Girls by Simone St. James”

Advertisements

Book Review: The Perfect Girlfriend by Karen Hamilton

The Perfect Girlfriend - Karen Hamilton

Ever since reading a review of The Perfect Girlfriend on The Belgian Reviewer’s blog, I knew it was a novel I had to read! Is there any such thing as “the perfect girlfriend?” – Juliette certainly thinks so…

Book Description:

Juliette loves Nate.
She will follow him anywhere. She’s even become a flight attendant for his airline, so she can keep a closer eye on him.

They are meant to be.
The fact that Nate broke up with her six months ago means nothing. Because Juliette has a plan to win him back.

She is the perfect girlfriend.
And she’ll make sure no one stops her from getting exactly what she wants.

True love hurts, but Juliette knows it’s worth all the pain… Continue reading “Book Review: The Perfect Girlfriend by Karen Hamilton”

Book Review: The Foster Child by Jenny Blackhurst

The Foster Child - Jenny Blackhurst

I’ve had my eye on The Foster Child for quite a while, and each time I saw the cover, it gave me this feeling that the plot could be extremely creepy – so I finally decided to read it…

Book Description:

When child psychologist Imogen Reid takes on the case of 11-year-old Ellie Atkinson, she refuses to listen to warnings that the girl is dangerous.

Ellie was the only survivor of a fire that killed her family. Imogen is convinced she’s just a sad and angry child struggling to cope with her loss.

But Ellie’s foster parents and teachers are starting to fear her. When she gets upset, bad things seem to happen. And as Imogen gets closer to Ellie, she may be putting herself in danger… Continue reading “Book Review: The Foster Child by Jenny Blackhurst”

Book Review: Hello Again by Brenda Novak (The Evelyn Talbot Chronicles #2)

Hello Again - Brenda Novak

If you missed my review of book one, Her Darkest Nightmare, you can find it here. Hello Again is book two in The Evelyn Talbot Chronicles.

Book Description:

Dr Evelyn Talbot has spent her life looking over her shoulder after her teenage boyfriend Jasper Moore kidnapped, tortured and left her for dead.

She only just escaped with her life, he disappeared without a trace, and twenty-two years later Evelyn can still feel him lurking in the shadows. Studying the psychopathic minds at Hanover House – Alaska’s first mental health facility for psychopaths – is how she will track him down.

Lyman Bishop could be the perfect subject. Evelyn discovers he is just as intelligent and trustworthy as Jasper appeared, and he hardly seems like the man who has been convicted of kidnapping and murdering several women.

But if Evelyn has learnt anything at all from her terrifying experience, it’s that the most unassuming can be the most dangerous of all. Continue reading “Book Review: Hello Again by Brenda Novak (The Evelyn Talbot Chronicles #2)”

Book Review: Her Darkest Nightmare by Brenda Novak (The Evelyn Talbot Chronicles #1)

Her Darkest Nightmare - Brenda Novak

Happy December  1st – who’s ready to get festive!? But before that, how about an insight into the mind of some serial killers? I read Her Darkest Nightmare before I started my blog, but as I’ll be sharing my review for the second book in this series on Sunday, I thought I’d share my review of book one today – you know I’m all about reading series in order!

From the back cover:

Dr. Evelyn Talbot has learnt to live with fear. As a teenager she was targeted by her boyfriend, Jasper Moore, and survived days of torture. She escaped with her life, but Jasper disappeared before he could be caught.

Now Evelyn Talbot lives in a world of psychopaths.

As the pioneering head of the Hanover House institute in Alaska, she engages daily with killers who have no conscience, no remorse and an ever-increasing desire to murder her, in an effort to try and work out how to stop those that remain free.

But then a mutilated body is found in her sleepy Alaskan town and Evelyn is forced to question everything. Her work, her life and whether her darkest nightmare has come back to haunt her… Continue reading “Book Review: Her Darkest Nightmare by Brenda Novak (The Evelyn Talbot Chronicles #1)”