Book Review: Little Deaths by Emma Flint

Little Deaths - Emma Flint

Well, Little Deaths was an unexpected powerful little book, that I must say, took me by surprise.

Book Description:

It’s the summer of 1965, and the streets of Queens, New York shimmer in a heatwave. One July morning, Ruth Malone wakes to find a bedroom window wide open and her two young children missing. After a desperate search, the police make a horrifying discovery.

It’s every mother’s worst nightmare. But Ruth Malone is not like other mothers . . .Noting Ruth’s perfectly made-up face and provocative clothing, the empty liquor bottles and love letters that litter her apartment, the detectives leap to convenient conclusions, fuelled by neighbourhood gossip and speculation. Sent to cover the case on his first major assignment, tabloid reporter Pete Wonicke at first can’t help but do the same. But the longer he spends watching Ruth, the more he learns about the darker workings of the police and the press. Soon, Pete begins to doubt everything he thought he knew.

Ruth Malone is enthralling, challenging and secretive – is she really capable of murder?

Haunting, intoxicating and heart-poundingly suspenseful, Little Deaths by Emma Flint is a gripping debut novel about love, morality and obsession, exploring the capacity for good and evil within us all. Continue reading “Book Review: Little Deaths by Emma Flint”


Book Promo | Cover Reveal: Seas of Snow by Kerensa Jennings (@zinca)

sos cover reveal

I have something very special to share with you today, and another first for my blog. Today’s post is the paperback cover reveal for a book extremely close to my heart – Seas of Snow by Kerensa Jennings. Publication date is set for 5th April 2018.

But, before I show you the cover, here’s everything you need to know about the book.


Kerensa JenningsKerensa Jennings is a storyteller, strategist, writer, producer and professor.

Kerensa’s TV work took her all over the world, covering everything from geo-politics to palaeontology, and her time as Programme Editor of Breakfast with Frost coincided with the life- changing events of 9/11.

The knowledge and experience she gained in psychology by qualifying and practising as an Executive Coach has only deepened her fascination with exploring the interplay between nature and nurture and with investigating whether evil is born or made – the question at the heart of Seas of Snow.

As a scholar at Oxford, her lifelong passion for poetry took flight. Kerensa lives in West London and has developed a career in digital enterprise to help inspire young people across the UK and unlock their potential.

Seas of Snow is her first novel. Continue reading “Book Promo | Cover Reveal: Seas of Snow by Kerensa Jennings (@zinca)”

Book Review: The Angel’s Game by Carlos Ruiz Zafón

The Angels Game - Carlos Ruiz Zafon

The Angel’s Game is the second novel in Zafón’s ‘the Cemetery of Forgotten Books’ quartet.

Book Description:

In an abandoned mansion at the heart of Barcelona, a young man – David Martin – makes his living by writing sensationalist novels under a pseudonym. The survivor of a troubled childhood, he has taken refuge in the world of books, and spends his nights spinning baroque tales about the city’s underworld. But perhaps his dark imaginings are not as strange as they seem, for in a locked room deep within the house letters hinting at the mysterious death of the previous owner. Like a slow poison, the history of the place seeps into his bones as he struggles with an impossible love.

Then David receives the offer of a lifetime: he is to write a book with the power to change hearts and minds. In return, he will receive a fortune, perhaps more. But as David begins the work, he realises that there is a connection between this haunting book and the shadows that surround his home… Continue reading “Book Review: The Angel’s Game by Carlos Ruiz Zafón”

Book Review: Little Broken Things by Nicole Baart

Little Broken Things - Nicole Baart

One of the reasons I love online book clubs – I read books like this! Thank you Salt Water Reads!

Book Description:

An engrossing and suspenseful novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Amy Hatvany about an affluent suburban family whose carefully constructed facade starts to come apart with the unexpected arrival of an endangered young girl.

I have something for you. When Quinn Cruz receives that cryptic text message from her older sister Nora, she doesn’t think much of it. They haven’t seen each other in nearly a year and thanks to Nora’s fierce aloofness, their relationship consists mostly of infrequent phone calls and an occasional email or text. But when a haunted Nora shows up at the lake near Quinn’s house just hours later, a chain reaction is set into motion that will change both of their lives forever. Continue reading “Book Review: Little Broken Things by Nicole Baart”

Book Review: The Secret History by Donna Tartt

The Secret History - Donna Tartt

I’ve lost track of the amount of times people have recommend this novel to me, telling me how brilliant it is. Now I’ve read it…

Book Description:

Truly deserving of the accolade Modern Classic, Donna Tartt’s cult bestseller The Secret History is a remarkable achievement – both compelling and elegant, dramatic and playful.

Under the influence of their charismatic classics professor, a group of clever, eccentric misfits at an elite New England college discover a way of thinking and living that is a world away from the humdrum existence of their contemporaries. But when they go beyond the boundaries of normal morality their lives are changed profoundly and for ever. Continue reading “Book Review: The Secret History by Donna Tartt”