Book Review: Let Me Lie by Clare Mackintosh

Let Me Lie - Clare Mackintosh

After loving Mackintosh’s two previous books, I was so excited to read her latest one.

Book Description:

The police say it was suicide.
Anna says it was murder.
They’re both wrong.

One year ago, Caroline Johnson chose to end her life brutally: a shocking suicide planned to match that of her husband just months before. Their daughter, Anna, has struggled to come to terms with their loss ever since.
Now with a young baby of her own, Anna misses her mother more than ever and starts to ask questions about her parents’ deaths. But by digging up the past, is she putting her future in danger? Sometimes it’s safer to let things lie . . .

The stunning, twisty new psychological thriller from number one bestseller Clare Mackintosh, author of I LET YOU GO and I SEE YOU. Continue reading “Book Review: Let Me Lie by Clare Mackintosh”


Book Review: The Woman in the Window by A. J. Finn

The Woman in the Window - AJ Finn

Of all the books I’ve read so far this year, The Woman in the Window had the most hype surrounding it, so I was very excited to finally read it.

Book Description:

What did she see?

It’s been ten long months since Anna Fox last left her home. Ten months during which she has haunted the rooms of her old New York house like a ghost, lost in her memories, too terrified to step outside.

Anna’s lifeline to the real world is her window, where she sits day after day, watching her neighbours. When the Russells move in, Anna is instantly drawn to them. A picture-perfect family of three, they are an echo of the life that was once hers.

But one evening, a frenzied scream rips across the silence, and Anna witnesses something no one was supposed to see. Now she must do everything she can to uncover the truth about what really happened. But even if she does, will anyone believe her? And can she even trust herself? Continue reading “Book Review: The Woman in the Window by A. J. Finn”

Book Review: Little Deaths by Emma Flint

Little Deaths - Emma Flint

Well, Little Deaths was an unexpected powerful little book, that I must say, took me by surprise.

Book Description:

It’s the summer of 1965, and the streets of Queens, New York shimmer in a heatwave. One July morning, Ruth Malone wakes to find a bedroom window wide open and her two young children missing. After a desperate search, the police make a horrifying discovery.

It’s every mother’s worst nightmare. But Ruth Malone is not like other mothers . . .Noting Ruth’s perfectly made-up face and provocative clothing, the empty liquor bottles and love letters that litter her apartment, the detectives leap to convenient conclusions, fuelled by neighbourhood gossip and speculation. Sent to cover the case on his first major assignment, tabloid reporter Pete Wonicke at first can’t help but do the same. But the longer he spends watching Ruth, the more he learns about the darker workings of the police and the press. Soon, Pete begins to doubt everything he thought he knew.

Ruth Malone is enthralling, challenging and secretive – is she really capable of murder?

Haunting, intoxicating and heart-poundingly suspenseful, Little Deaths by Emma Flint is a gripping debut novel about love, morality and obsession, exploring the capacity for good and evil within us all. Continue reading “Book Review: Little Deaths by Emma Flint”

Book Review: Anatomy of a Scandal by Sarah Vaughan

Anatomy of a Scandal - Sarah Vaughan

I was drawn to Anatomy of a Scandal because the synopsis reminded me a little bit of the hit TV series Scandal, featuring Kerry Washington – successful public figures caught up in a scandal.

Book Description:

You want to believe your husband. She wants to destroy him.

Gripping psychological drama for fans of Apple Tree Yard, The Good Wife and Notes on a Scandal.

Part courtroom thriller; part portrait of a marriage; part exploration of how our memories still haunt us, Anatomy of a Scandal is a disarming and provocative psychological drama.

Sophie’s husband, James, is a loving father and a successful public figure. Yet he stands accused of a terrible crime. Sophie is convinced he is innocent and desperate to protect her precious family from the lies that threaten to engulf him. She’s kept his darkest secret ever since they were first lovers, at Oxford. And if she stood by him then, she can do it now.

Kate is the barrister prosecuting his case. She’s certain that James is guilty and determined he should pay. No stranger to suffering herself, she doesn’t flinch from posing the questions few want to hear. About what happens between a man a woman when they’re alone: alone in bed, alone in an embrace, alone in a lift . . .

Is James the victim of an unfortunate misunderstanding or the perpetrator of something sinister? Who is right: Sophie or Kate? This scandal – which forces Sophie to appraise her marriage and Kate her demons – will have far-reaching consequences for them all. Continue reading “Book Review: Anatomy of a Scandal by Sarah Vaughan”

Blog Tour | Book Review: Anything You Do Say by Gillian McAllister

Anything You Do Say - Gillian McAllister

It’s dark, it’s late, in a split second you could make a decision that will alter the course of your life forever…

Welcome to my stop on the Anything You Do Say blog tour, after reading ‘Everything But The Truth’ by McAllister earlier this year, I jumped at the chance to be a part of this blog tour and share my review with you all today.

Book Description:

Gone Girl meets Sliding Doors in this edge-of-your-seat thriller.

Joanna is an avoider. So far she has spent her adult life hiding bank statements and changing career aspirations weekly. But then one night Joanna hears footsteps on the way home.

Is she being followed? She is sure it’s him; the man from the bar who wouldn’t leave her alone.

Hearing the steps speed up, Joanna turns and pushes with all of her might, sending her pursuer tumbling down the steps to lie motionless on the floor. Now Joanna has to make a decision: Fight or flight? Truth or lie? Right or wrong? Continue reading “Blog Tour | Book Review: Anything You Do Say by Gillian McAllister”