Book Review: Anatomy of a Scandal by Sarah Vaughan

Anatomy of a Scandal - Sarah Vaughan

I was drawn to Anatomy of a Scandal because the synopsis reminded me a little bit of the hit TV series Scandal, featuring Kerry Washington – successful public figures caught up in a scandal.

Book Description:

You want to believe your husband. She wants to destroy him.

Gripping psychological drama for fans of Apple Tree Yard, The Good Wife and Notes on a Scandal.

Part courtroom thriller; part portrait of a marriage; part exploration of how our memories still haunt us, Anatomy of a Scandal is a disarming and provocative psychological drama.

Sophie’s husband, James, is a loving father and a successful public figure. Yet he stands accused of a terrible crime. Sophie is convinced he is innocent and desperate to protect her precious family from the lies that threaten to engulf him. She’s kept his darkest secret ever since they were first lovers, at Oxford. And if she stood by him then, she can do it now.

Kate is the barrister prosecuting his case. She’s certain that James is guilty and determined he should pay. No stranger to suffering herself, she doesn’t flinch from posing the questions few want to hear. About what happens between a man a woman when they’re alone: alone in bed, alone in an embrace, alone in a lift . . .

Is James the victim of an unfortunate misunderstanding or the perpetrator of something sinister? Who is right: Sophie or Kate? This scandal – which forces Sophie to appraise her marriage and Kate her demons – will have far-reaching consequences for them all. Continue reading “Book Review: Anatomy of a Scandal by Sarah Vaughan”

Advertisements

Blog Tour | Book Review: Anything You Do Say by Gillian McAllister

Anything You Do Say - Gillian McAllister

It’s dark, it’s late, in a split second you could make a decision that will alter the course of your life forever…

Welcome to my stop on the Anything You Do Say blog tour, after reading ‘Everything But The Truth’ by McAllister earlier this year, I jumped at the chance to be a part of this blog tour and share my review with you all today.

Book Description:

Gone Girl meets Sliding Doors in this edge-of-your-seat thriller.

Joanna is an avoider. So far she has spent her adult life hiding bank statements and changing career aspirations weekly. But then one night Joanna hears footsteps on the way home.

Is she being followed? She is sure it’s him; the man from the bar who wouldn’t leave her alone.

Hearing the steps speed up, Joanna turns and pushes with all of her might, sending her pursuer tumbling down the steps to lie motionless on the floor. Now Joanna has to make a decision: Fight or flight? Truth or lie? Right or wrong? Continue reading “Blog Tour | Book Review: Anything You Do Say by Gillian McAllister”

Book Review: The Devil You Know by Terry Tyler

The Devil You Know - Terry Tyler

I’m a huge fan of character driven novels and you wouldn’t be wrong if you said I have a slight obsession with serial killers – combining those two points makes The Devil You Know my kind of book!

Book Description:

Every serial killer is someone’s friend, spouse, lover or child….

Young women are being murdered in the Lincolnshire town of Lyndford, where five people fear someone close to them might be the monster the police are searching for.
One of them is right.

Juliet sees an expert’s profile of the average serial killer and realises that her abusive husband, Paul, ticks all the boxes.

Maisie thinks her mum’s new boyfriend seems too good to be true. Is she the only person who can see through Gary’s friendly, sensitive façade?

Tamsin is besotted with her office crush, Jake. Then love turns to suspicion…

Steve is used to his childhood friend, Dan, being a loud mouthed Lothario with little respect for the truth. But is a new influence in his life leading him down a more sinister path?

Dorothy’s beloved son, Orlando, is keeping a secret from her—a chilling discovery forces her to confront her worst fears.

THE DEVIL YOU KNOW is a character-driven psychological drama that will keep you guessing until the very end. Continue reading “Book Review: The Devil You Know by Terry Tyler”

Book Review: Everything but the Truth by Gillian McAllister

everything-but-the-truth-gillian-mcallister

Have you ever had a book sneak up on you emotionally, and you only realise its hold over you when you go to put it down and realise you can’t? That’s exactly what happened with this book, it silently took hold of my heart and became a one-sitting read.

Book Description:

It all started with the email. It came through to her boyfriend’s iPad in the middle of the night. Rachel didn’t even mean to look. She loves Jack, and she’s pregnant with their child. She trusts him. But now she’s seen it, she can’t undo that moment, or the chain of events it has set in motion. Why has Jack been lying about his past? Just what exactly is he hiding? And doesn’t Rachel have a right to know the truth at any cost? Continue reading “Book Review: Everything but the Truth by Gillian McAllister”

Book Review: The Roanoke Girls by Amy Engel

the-roanoke-girls-amy-engel

This book was read purely on #FOMO (fear of missing out), the Roanoke girls have a dark secret and I was desperate to know what it was!

Book Description:

Beautiful.
Rich.
Mysterious.

The Roanoke girls seem to have it all. But there’s a dark truth about them which is never spoken. Every girl either runs away, or dies.

Lane is one of the lucky ones. When she was fifteen, over one long, hot summer at her grandparents’ estate in rural Kansas, she found out what it really means to be a Roanoke girl. Lane ran, far and fast. Until eleven years later, when her cousin Allegra goes missing – and Lane has no choice but to go back.

She is a Roanoke girl.

Is she strong enough to escape a second time? Continue reading “Book Review: The Roanoke Girls by Amy Engel”