Book Review: Before We Were Strangers by Brenda Novak

Before We Were Strangers - Brenda Novak

Brenda Novak is a name you’ll have seen on my blog before, I’m a huge fan of her Evelyn Talbot chronicles, so I jumped at the chance to read her latest standalone novel, Before We Were Strangers, which is publishing on 4th December.

bookdescription

Something happened to her mother that night. Something no one wants to talk about. But she’s determined to uncover her family’s dark secrets, even if they bury her.

Five-year-old Sloane McBride couldn’t sleep that night. Her parents were arguing again, their harsh words heating the cool, autumn air. And then there’d been that other sound—the ominous thump before all went quiet.

In the morning, her mother was gone.

The official story was that she left. Her loving, devoted mother! That hadn’t sat any better at the time than it did when Sloane moved out at eighteen, anxious to leave her small, Texas hometown in search of anywhere else. But not even a fresh start working as a model in New York could keep the nightmares at bay. Or her fears that the domineering father she grew up with wasn’t just difficult—he was deadly.

Now, another traumatic loss forces Sloane to realize she owes it to her mother to find out the truth, even if that means returning to a small town full of secrets and lies, a jilted ex-boyfriend, and a father and brother who’d rather see her silenced. But as Sloane starts digging into the past, the question isn’t whether she can uncover what really happened that night…it’s what will remain of her family if she does? Continue reading “Book Review: Before We Were Strangers by Brenda Novak”

Advertisements

Blog Tour | Book Review: The Lingering by SJI Holliday #TheLingering

The Lingering - SJI Holliday

It’s my absolute pleasure to kick off the blog tour for this five star novel from SJI Holliday, The Lingering. I feel like this book doesn’t even need a blurb, you just seen that orginal, creepy cover and immediately want to read this novel; the excitement only increases once you find out it’s part psychological thriller, part ghost story!

bookdescription

Married couple Jack and Ali Gardiner move to a self-sufficient commune in the English Fens, desperate for fresh start. The local village is known for the witches who once resided there and Rosalind House, where the commune has been established, is a former psychiatric home, with a disturbing history.

When Jack and Ali arrive, a chain of unexpected and unexplained events is set off, and it becomes clear that they are not all that they seem. As the residents become twitchy, and the villagers suspicious, events from the past come back to haunt them, and someone is seeking retribution…

At once an unnerving locked-room mystery, a chilling thriller and a dark and superbly wrought ghost story, The Lingering is an exceptionally plotted, terrifying and tantalisingly twisted novel by one of the most exciting authors in the genre. Continue reading “Blog Tour | Book Review: The Lingering by SJI Holliday #TheLingering”

Blog Tour | Book Review: Lies Between Us by Ronnie Turner #LiesBetweenUs #WhereIsBonnie?

Lies Between Us - Ronnie Turner

Welcome to my stop on the blog tour for Ronnie Turner’s debut novel, Lies Between Us, and what an impressive debut it is! I’m delighted to be sharing my review with you today.

bookdescription

Will they ever learn the truth?

Three people, leading very different lives, are about to be brought together – with devastating consequences . . .

John has a perfect life, until the day his daughter goes missing.

Maisie cares for her patients, but hides her own traumatic past.

Miller should be an innocent child, but is obsessed with something he can’t have.

They all have something in common, though none of them know it – and the truth won’t stay hidden for long . . . Continue reading “Blog Tour | Book Review: Lies Between Us by Ronnie Turner #LiesBetweenUs #WhereIsBonnie?”

Blog Tour | Book Review: Keep Your Friends Close by June Taylor #KeepYourFriendsClose #damppebblesblogtours

Keep Your Friends Close by June Taylor

Welcome to my stop on the Keep Your Friends Close blog tour, and happy eBook publication day to June Taylor! This exciting psychological thriller is available to buy now in eBook now, the paperback is available to pre-order.

bookdescription

Keep your friends close and your enemies closer…

An addictive and shocking psychological thriller, full of twists you won’t see coming, perfect for fans of FRIEND REQUEST by Laura Marshall.

A friend who won’t let you escape.
When Karin is taken on a romantic break by her loving partner Aaron, she can’t wait for him to propose. But her surprise weekend quickly becomes a nightmare from which she may never escape.

Who wants everything you have.
They are staying by the beach at the Midland – a grand hotel where Karin used to work. And where Karin’s dangerous and obsessive ex, whom she has been trying to leave behind for years, is waiting patiently for her to return.

Who won’t stop until your life is in ruins.
Now all of Karin’s darkest secrets are being dragged into the light and her friends are turning against her. When one of them is murdered, Karin begins to realise just how treacherous relationships can be… Continue reading “Blog Tour | Book Review: Keep Your Friends Close by June Taylor #KeepYourFriendsClose #damppebblesblogtours”

Book Review: The Shining by Stephen King (The Shining #1)

The Shining - Stephen King

With a fancy new Halloween edition published this month, it was the perfect time to reread The Shining.

bookdescription

One of the true classics of horror fiction, THE SHINING is regarded as one of Stephen King’s masterpieces.

Danny is only five years old, but in the words of old Mr Hallorann he is a ‘shiner’, aglow with psychic voltage. When his father becomes caretaker of the Overlook Hotel, Danny’s visions grow out of control.

As winter closes in and blizzards cut them off, the hotel seems to develop a life of its own. It is meant to be empty. So who is the lady in Room 217 and who are the masked guests going up and down in the elevator? And why do the hedges shaped like animals seem so alive?

Somewhere, somehow, there is an evil force in the hotel – and that, too, is beginning to shine . . . Continue reading “Book Review: The Shining by Stephen King (The Shining #1)”