Nonfiction Audiobook Review: I Can’t Make This Up: Life Lessons by Kevin Hart

I Can't Make This Up - Kevin Hart

I’m a huge fan of Kevin Hart’s stand-up comedy, I even saw him live in Wembley, which was awesome, so when I found out he narrated his own audiobook, and while I currently have an audible membership, it became top priority listening.

bookdescription

Superstar comedian and Hollywood box-office star Kevin Hart turns his immense talent to the written word by writing some words. Some of those words include: theaforabove, and even even. Put them together and you have the funniest, most heartfelt, and most inspirational memoir on survival, success, and the importance of believing in yourself since Old Yeller.

It begins in North Philadelphia. He was born an accident, unwanted by his parents. His father was a drug addict who was in and out of jail. His brother was a crack dealer and petty thief. And his mother was overwhelmingly strict, beating him with belts, frying pans, and his own toys.

The odds, in short, were stacked against our young hero, just like the odds that are stacked against the release of a new book in this era of social media (where Hart has a following of over 100 million, by the way).

But Kevin Hart, like Ernest Hemingway, J.K. Rowling, and Chocolate Droppa before him, was able to defy the odds and turn it around. In his literary debut, he takes the listener on a journey through what his life was, what it is today, and how he’s overcome each challenge to become the man he is today.

And that man happens to be the biggest comedian in the world, with tours that sell out football stadiums and films that have collectively grossed over $3.5 billion.

He achieved this not just through hard work, determination, and talent: It was through his unique way of looking at the world. Because just like a book has chapters, Hart sees life as a collection of chapters that each person gets to write for himself or herself.

“Not only do you get to choose how you interpret each chapter, but your interpretation writes the next chapter,” he says. “So why not choose the interpretation that serves your life the best?” Continue reading “Nonfiction Audiobook Review: I Can’t Make This Up: Life Lessons by Kevin Hart”

Advertisements

Blog Tour | Book Review: Kill the Angel by Sandrone Dazieri (Torre and Caselli #2) #RandomThingsTours

Kill The Angel.jpg

I’m delighted to be kicking of the Kill the Angel blog tour, and sharing my review of this title with you today. Kill the Angel follows Kill the Father in Dazieri’s Torre and Caselli series.

bookdescription

The second novel from the acclaimed author of Kill the Father, a Richard and Judy 2017 Bookclub pick and Sunday Times bestseller, this thriller is multi-layered, complex, full of twists and turns and satisfyingly dark –  one of those novels you just have to read late into the night.

A high-speed train from Milan draws into the station in Rome, and a horrific discovery in one carriage rocks the city. Preliminary investigations are put in the hands of Deputy Police Commissioner Colomba Caselli.

The Police receive a message claiming responsibility for the act and announcing more murders to come, and they duly turn their attention to a small terrorist group of Islamic extremists. But investigator Dante Torre does not believe this angle. For him, this feels like a smokescreen concealing the actions of a killer who has a far more terrible motivation.

The trail lead to Berlin and Venice, where the waters of the Venetian Lagoon will turn blood red… Continue reading “Blog Tour | Book Review: Kill the Angel by Sandrone Dazieri (Torre and Caselli #2) #RandomThingsTours”

Book Review: Hidden Killers by Lynda LaPlante (Tennison #2)

Hidden Killers - Lynda LaPlante

I read book one, Tennison, last month and absolutely loved it, so, as is the natural order of things, I read Hidden Killers this month.

Book Description:

A prostitute dressed in a blue rabbit fur coat walks through the darkness of Hackney Fields, seemingly alone. But someone is waiting for her . . .
A woman is found dead in her bath, a small child crying in the room next door . . . Is it accidental death or the perfect murder?
When WPC Jane Tennison is promoted to the role of Detective Constable in London’s Bow Street CID, she is immediately conflicted. While her far more experience colleagues move on swiftly from one criminal case to another, Jane is often left with doubts about their findings.
Becoming inextricably embroiled in a multiple-rape case, Jane must put her life at risk in the search for answers. Will she toe the CID line, or endanger her position by seeking the truth . . .? Continue reading “Book Review: Hidden Killers by Lynda LaPlante (Tennison #2)”

Book Review: Anatomy of a Scandal by Sarah Vaughan

Anatomy of a Scandal - Sarah Vaughan

I was drawn to Anatomy of a Scandal because the synopsis reminded me a little bit of the hit TV series Scandal, featuring Kerry Washington – successful public figures caught up in a scandal.

Book Description:

You want to believe your husband. She wants to destroy him.

Gripping psychological drama for fans of Apple Tree Yard, The Good Wife and Notes on a Scandal.

Part courtroom thriller; part portrait of a marriage; part exploration of how our memories still haunt us, Anatomy of a Scandal is a disarming and provocative psychological drama.

Sophie’s husband, James, is a loving father and a successful public figure. Yet he stands accused of a terrible crime. Sophie is convinced he is innocent and desperate to protect her precious family from the lies that threaten to engulf him. She’s kept his darkest secret ever since they were first lovers, at Oxford. And if she stood by him then, she can do it now.

Kate is the barrister prosecuting his case. She’s certain that James is guilty and determined he should pay. No stranger to suffering herself, she doesn’t flinch from posing the questions few want to hear. About what happens between a man a woman when they’re alone: alone in bed, alone in an embrace, alone in a lift . . .

Is James the victim of an unfortunate misunderstanding or the perpetrator of something sinister? Who is right: Sophie or Kate? This scandal – which forces Sophie to appraise her marriage and Kate her demons – will have far-reaching consequences for them all. Continue reading “Book Review: Anatomy of a Scandal by Sarah Vaughan”