Book Box Unboxing: Ninja Book Box (Inspiration) #ninjabookbox

closed box

It’s time for the November Ninja Book Box unboxing. Ninja Book Box features books from indie publishers across a variety of genres, and source their bookish items from small businesses. This particular box is special for a few reasons – firstly, it’s Ninja Book Boxes second anniversary box; also, the first time a nonfiction book has been chosen, and thirdly, it’s their last box until summer 2019 as they are going on a planned hiatus.

*I received 50% off this box as I am a Ninja Reader (I read a small selection of titles to help decide which books are suitable for the book box and/or book club.)

The theme for November’s box was: Inspiration

So what was inside:
Wrapper Box

I’m pretty sure every time I get this box, I comment on the packaging, and this time is no different, I love how nicely everything is wrapped! In each box, there is a Ninja Recipe Card – this month’s recipe is for Orkney Fudge Cheesecake, reading the instructions, I think I could make this, it’s much simpler than I thought, maybe I’ll try my hand at cheesecake! The Ninja team also included a handmade, Christmas card with a personalised, handwritten, message inside, it’s the little things like this that make this box truly special.

The other staple feature in each box is a charm, this month’s charm is a Swallow. Anyone any good at origami, how impressive is this Shuriken star!? Did you know, this star is also known as a Ninja Throwing Star, fitting for this box I’d say! I love these little extras in this box!

From Pickled Ginger Designs, this gorgeous Bubble Print Journal/Notebook. The lighting in this photo doesn’t do these items justice, the notebook is a lot softer in colour in real life, and I love that it’s bound with lace instead of staples.

From Newton and the Apple, this Cetus (the Whale) bottle opener. The festive season is upon us so you just know this item will be getting used immediately.

Cushion Cover

My favourite item in this box, from Blossom Violet Crafts, a Galaxy Cushion Cover. Again, the photo doesn’t do the cover justice, it’s a little bit lighter than the photo would have you believe, and I absolutely love it! I’m planning to buy a cushion this weekend, so I can put this cover to use straight away!

The book:

From Canongate – The Outrun by Amy Liptrot

The Outrun - Amy Liptrot

When Amy Liptrot returns to Orkney after more than a decade away, she is drawn back to the Outrun on the sheep farm where she grew up. Approaching the land that was once home, memories of her childhood merge with the recent events that have set her on this journey.

Amy was shaped by the cycle of the seasons, birth and death on the farm, and her father’s mental illness, which were as much a part of her childhood as the wild, carefree existence on Orkney. But as she grew up, she longed to leave this remote life. She moved to London and found herself in a hedonistic cycle. Unable to control her drinking, alcohol gradually took over. Now thirty, she finds herself washed up back home on Orkney, standing unstable at the cliff edge, trying to come to terms with what happened to her in London.

Spending early mornings swimming in the bracingly cold sea, the days tracking Orkney’s wildlife – puffins nesting on sea stacks, arctic terns swooping close enough to feel their wings – and nights searching the sky for the Merry Dancers, Amy slowly makes the journey towards recovery from addiction.

The Outrun is a beautiful, inspiring book about living on the edge, about the pull between island and city, and about the ability of the sea, the land, the wind and the moon to restore life and renew hope.

***

I love the sound of this book, I love reading inspirational stories of overcoming hardship. I really hope Ninja feature more nonfiction books in the future. All the items in this box, the book especially, fit the theme of inspiration very well. Another well-curated box that was a pleasure to receive.

***

The complete box

Complete Box

As mentioned earlier, Ninja Book Box and Ninja Book Club are going on a hiatus until summer 2019, this was the perfect box to hit pause on! The Ninja’s are not gone completely as you can browse their website for new, and gently used, books available for purchase. Everything you need to know about Ninja Book Box can be found on their website: www.ninjabookbox.com.

9 thoughts on “Book Box Unboxing: Ninja Book Box (Inspiration) #ninjabookbox

  1. Thanks so much for this lovely post, it reminded me why I love making the boxes! I’m so glad the nonfiction pick has gone down so well- we’ll definitely be looking to include more in the future!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment