#24in48 Readathon

The 24in48 readathon is back this weekend (22nd-23rd July). I was working the weekend of the last one so I’m super excited to be taking part this time! The aim is simple – read for 24 of the 48 hours or as the website states:

“If you’re new to 24in48, this is the basic gist: beginning at 12:01am on Saturday morning and running through 11:59pm on Sunday night, participants read for 24 hours out of that 48-hour period. You can split that up however you’d like: 20 hours on Saturday, four hours on Sunday; 12 hours each day; six four-hour sessions with four hour breaks in between, whatever you’d like.”

Now you all know I’m a rebel so I’m bending the time frame slightly as I have an early start Monday morning [I asked the hosts, they said it’s fine haha]. So my 24in48 will officially start today at 6.01pm and finish Sunday evening at 5.59pm.

24in48 TBR:

I don’t plan on being too strict with the books I read but I do have a few books in mind. Firstly, I plan on finishing A Little Life by Hanya Yangihara – I’m 562 pages deep, still a way to go before I complete its 720 pages, but the content is so heavy, depressingly so, that I’ve been reading a lot of other books along side it. And it’s a library book so I really need to finish it soon.

A Little Life - Hanya Yanagihara

When four graduates from a small Massachusetts college move to New York to make their way, they’re broke, adrift, and buoyed only by their friendship and ambition. There is kind, handsome Willem, an aspiring actor; JB, a quick-witted, sometimes cruel Brooklyn-born painter seeking entry to the art world; Malcolm, a frustrated architect at a prominent firm; and withdrawn, brilliant, enigmatic Jude, who serves as their centre of gravity. Over the decades, their relationships deepen and darken, tinged by addiction, success, and pride. Yet their greatest challenge, each comes to realize, is Jude himself, by midlife a terrifyingly talented litigator yet an increasingly broken man, his mind and body scarred by an unspeakable childhood, and haunted by what he fears is a degree of trauma that he’ll not only be unable to overcome – but that will define his life forever.

I also hope to read:

The Other Twin by L. V. Hay

The Other Twin - L V Hay

When India falls to her death from a bridge over a railway, her sister Poppy returns home to Brighton for the first time in years. Unconvinced by official explanations, Poppy begins her own investigation into India’s death. But the deeper she digs, the closer she comes to uncovering deeply buried secrets. Could Matthew Temple, the boyfriend she abandoned, be involved? And what of his powerful and wealthy parents, and his twin sister, Ana? Enter the mysterious and ethereal Jenny: the girl Poppy discovers after hacking into India’s laptop. What is exactly is she hiding, and what did India find out about her? Taking the reader on a breathless ride through the winding lanes of Brighton, into its vibrant party scene and inside the homes of its well-heeled families, The Other Twin is startling and up-to-the-minute thriller about the social-media world, where resentments and accusations are played out online, where identities are made and remade, and where there is no such thing as truth …

A Stranger in the House by Shari Lapena

A Stranger in the House - Shari Lapena

Why would you run scared from a happy home?
You’re waiting for your beloved husband to get home from work. You’re making dinner, looking forward to hearing about his day.
That’s the last thing you remember.
You wake up in hospital, with no idea how you got there. They tell you that you were in an accident; you lost control of your car whilst driving in a dangerous part of town.
The police suspect you were up to no good. But your husband refuses to believe it. Your best friend isn’t so sure. And even you don’t know what to believe . . .

Dark Matter by Blake Crouch

dark-matter-by-blake-crouch

‘Are you happy in your life?’
Those are the last words Jason Dessen hears before the masked abductor knocks him unconscious.

Before he wakes to find himself strapped to a gurney, surrounded by strangers in hazmat suits.

Before the man he’s never met smiles down at him and says, ‘Welcome back, my friend.’

In this world he’s woken up to, Jason’s life is not the one he knows. His wife is not his wife. His son was never born. And Jason is not an ordinary college physics professor, but a celebrated genius who has achieved something remarkable. Something impossible.

Is it this world or the other that’s the dream? And even if the home he remembers is real, how can Jason possibly make it back to the family he loves? The answers lie in a journey more wondrous and horrifying than anything he could’ve imagined – one that will force him to confront the darkest parts of himself even as he battles a terrifying, seemingly unbeatable foe.

Those are the planned reads, anything else is a bonus if I have time. I’m going out Saturday during the daytime so that’s several hours lost already but I’m game for this readathon! I’ll be sharing my progress on Twitter throughout the 48 hours – @keeperofpages. I’m planning a blog post for Monday to let you all know how I got on – wish me luck…

You can find all the information about this readthon on the website – 24in48.com.

41 thoughts on “#24in48 Readathon

  1. Dark Matter is awesome!! Good luck with your challenge, it looks great. I’ve been meaning to read A Little Life, but I feel like I need to be in a great mood so that I don’t get too sad. Do you think it’d help?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I feel like the only person on the planet who hasn’t read Dark Matter yet 😂 I’ve heard many times how good it is so I’m glad I’m finally getting around to it.

      Erm, I think so, I find it such a depressing story but there’s something about it that compels you to read on. If you can read more than one book at a time, if recommend reading a more upbeat book alongside it.

      Like

  2. Wow! What an impressive reading concept this 24in48 is!!! I really admire people reading a lot so fast. All the best to you for the challenge and most of all, enjoy it! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Some great book choices. I wish I had that much FREE time…..I have construction workers at my house…..Ugh. If you ever decide to change your tile floors out for a wood…ugh!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Good luck! Reading 24 hours in 48 hours is a lot. I don’t think I’d be able to do it.

    Love to know your thought on A Little Life. It’s a book I plan to read at some point as well. Shari Lapena’s new book should be a fast read, so that might during your readathon 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, it’s definitely a challenge but even if I don’t manage the full 24hours, at least I’ll get a lot of reading done haha!
      So far A Little Life is extremely depressing yet you feel compelled to read on.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Congrats! That’s amazing! I’m so intimidated by the readathon challenge! The longest I’ve ever managed to do was 8.5 hours and that was MORE than enough for me!
    I can’t wait to read what you have to say of A Little Life – it’s been under my radar for quite some time, but I still have yet to add it to my already brimming TBR!
    I look forward to reading more from you in the future… Happy Reading! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment